Getting you a comprehensive review of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →
While offering a gentle cleansing experience, Kiehl's Ultra Facial Cleanser makes a "Paraben-free" claim that is directly contradicted by its ingredient list, raising significant transparency concerns.
₹2,200 • Analysed 18 July 2026
For India's hot, humid, higher-pollution days, a cleanser that lifts sweat, sebum and grime without stripping the barrier is the practical fit; hard water in many cities can affect how it lathers and rinses. The Kiehl's Ultra Facial Cleanser maintains a consistent premium price of Rs. 2,200 for 150ml across all major Indian e-commerce platforms, indicating a controlled pricing strategy with no significant discounts or variations. 1 marketing claim could draw ASCI scrutiny under India's advertising code; the ingredient list is the more reliable guide.
Independent and free. The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to review, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence review, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of review.
Formula contains a mix of SLES and milder glucosides, plus humectants (Glycerin) and emollients, supporting gentle cleansing. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
Brand states "pH-balanced". Formula contains pH adjusters (Triethanolamine, Citric Acid) to achieve this. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
Brand states testing was done, but no specific details (methodology, sample size, duration) are publicly visible beyond the statement itself.
Squalane, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil are all listed in the retrieved INCI. Percentages are not disclosed.
Formula contains a blend of surfactants (Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Decyl Glucoside, Cocamidopropyl Betaine) designed for effective cleansing. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
The surfactant blend is capable of removing light makeup. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
Glycerin (humectant) is present. Emollients (Squalane, oils) are present but appear after preservatives, suggesting concentrations below 1%, which limits their active contribution to moisture balance in a rinse-off product. This claim is more about not stripping than actively adding significant moisture.
Formula contains emollients and humectants that contribute to skin feel. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
What we could confirm from public sources and the verified ingredient list.
Ingredient Safety & Toxicity
Full ingredient list retrieved and verified against INCIDecoder.
Brand describes ingredient origin in its claims.
Screened against the ingredient database (16 of 30 ingredients matched); no cosmetics-prohibited ingredient found.
Methylparaben: Weak estrogenic activity Propylparaben: Stronger endocrine disruption evidence propylparaben: Longer-chain paraben with endocrine-activity concern.
No IARC-classified or formaldehyde-releasing ingredient found in the database screen.
No commonly-comedogenic ingredient found - a reasonable fit for acne-prone skin.
Irritation & Allergen Risk
No EU-declarable or database-flagged allergen found in the list.
No high-sensitisation preservative (MI/MCI/formaldehyde-releaser) from our screen was found.
Built on a stronger sulphate surfactant (sodium laureth sulfate) - effective, but can feel stripping on sensitive skin or in hard water.
Ingredient Transparency
The full INCI list is publicly available, not just hero ingredients.
Ingredients are listed in the descending order required by India Cosmetics Rules 2020.
Standards & Compliance
Usage warnings and directions are clear on the label.
Screened against a curated reference set that we are continuing to verify and expand, so “clear” means no flag from that set, not a guarantee. Not a substitute for a full toxicological or clinical assessment.
| Ingredient |
|---|
Water |
Sodium Laureth Sulfate |
Decyl Glucoside |
Glycerin |
Cocamidopropyl Betaine |
Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate |
Acrylates Copolymer |
Peg-200 Hydrogenated Glyceryl Palmate |
Lauryl Glucoside |
Sodium Chloride |
Pentylene Glycol |
Triethanolamine |
Phenoxyethanol |
Peg-7 Glyceryl Cocoate |
Ethylhexylglycerin |
Distearyl Ether |
Behenyl Alcohol |
Methylparaben |
Laureth-2 |
Citric Acid |
Disodium Edta |
Propylparaben |
Polyaminopropyl Biguanide |
Sodium Methylparaben |
Squalane |
Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil |
Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil |
Tocopherol |
Ascorbyl Glucoside |
Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil |
INCI order as declared on packaging. Position reflects approximate concentration (high to low).
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
“Paraben-free, fragrance-free, silicone-free, mineral oil-free”
The claim "Paraben-free" is directly contradicted by the retrieved INCI list which contains Methylparaben, Propylparaben, and Sodium Methylparaben. This is a misleading claim under ASCI Chapter 1 (Truthful and Honest).
Formula contains a mix of SLES and milder glucosides, plus humectants (Glycerin) and emollients, supporting gentle cleansing. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
Evidence visible
Brand states "pH-balanced". Formula contains pH adjusters (Triethanolamine, Citric Acid) to achieve this. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
Evidence visible
Brand states testing was done, but no specific details (methodology, sample size, duration) are publicly visible beyond the statement itself.
Evidence visible
Squalane, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil are all listed in the retrieved INCI. Percentages are not disclosed.
Mentioned only
Formula contains a blend of surfactants (Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Decyl Glucoside, Cocamidopropyl Betaine) designed for effective cleansing. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
Evidence visible
The surfactant blend is capable of removing light makeup. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
Evidence visible
Glycerin (humectant) is present. Emollients (Squalane, oils) are present but appear after preservatives, suggesting concentrations below 1%, which limits their active contribution to moisture balance in a rinse-off product. This claim is more about not stripping than actively adding significant moisture.
Mentioned only
Formula contains emollients and humectants that contribute to skin feel. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
Evidence visible
Brand states "Dermatologist-tested for safety" and "Tested for safety and gentleness". The formula is fragrance-free and alcohol-free, which is beneficial for sensitive skin.
Evidence visible
The retrieved INCI list explicitly contains Methylparaben, Propylparaben, and Sodium Methylparaben, directly contradicting the "Paraben-free" claim. The INCI does not list Parfum/Fragrance, silicones, or mineral oil, so those parts of the claim are supported.
Missing
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps
This review evaluates brand claims against visible evidence and formula logic. It does not replace a full ingredient safety analysis or a clinical product test. Results vary by individual, and the consumer should always read the full ingredient list and follow usage guidance.
Are you the brand? If you have published test data or want to request a re-review, write to us at hello@thecleansheet.in.
Methylparaben: Weak estrogenic activity Propylparaben: Stronger endocrine disruption evidence propylparaben: Longer-chain paraben with endocrine-activity concern.
No IARC-classified or formaldehyde-releasing ingredient found in the database screen.
No commonly-comedogenic ingredient found - a reasonable fit for acne-prone skin.
Irritation & Allergen Risk
No EU-declarable or database-flagged allergen found in the list.
No high-sensitisation preservative (MI/MCI/formaldehyde-releaser) from our screen was found.
Built on a stronger sulphate surfactant (sodium laureth sulfate) - effective, but can feel stripping on sensitive skin or in hard water.
Ingredient Transparency
The full INCI list is publicly available, not just hero ingredients.
Ingredients are listed in the descending order required by India Cosmetics Rules 2020.
Standards & Compliance
Usage warnings and directions are clear on the label.
Screened against a curated reference set that we are continuing to verify and expand, so “clear” means no flag from that set, not a guarantee. Not a substitute for a full toxicological or clinical assessment.
Brand states testing was done, but no specific details (methodology, sample size, duration) are publicly visible beyond the statement itself.
Squalane, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil are all listed in the retrieved INCI. Percentages are not disclosed.
Formula contains a blend of surfactants (Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Decyl Glucoside, Cocamidopropyl Betaine) designed for effective cleansing. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
The surfactant blend is capable of removing light makeup. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
Glycerin (humectant) is present. Emollients (Squalane, oils) are present but appear after preservatives, suggesting concentrations below 1%, which limits their active contribution to moisture balance in a rinse-off product. This claim is more about not stripping than actively adding significant moisture.
Formula contains emollients and humectants that contribute to skin feel. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
Formula contains a mix of SLES and milder glucosides, plus humectants (Glycerin) and emollients, supporting gentle cleansing. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
Evidence visible
Brand states "pH-balanced". Formula contains pH adjusters (Triethanolamine, Citric Acid) to achieve this. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
Evidence visible
Brand states testing was done, but no specific details (methodology, sample size, duration) are publicly visible beyond the statement itself.
Evidence visible
Squalane, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil are all listed in the retrieved INCI. Percentages are not disclosed.
Mentioned only
Formula contains a blend of surfactants (Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Decyl Glucoside, Cocamidopropyl Betaine) designed for effective cleansing. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
Evidence visible
The surfactant blend is capable of removing light makeup. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
Evidence visible
Glycerin (humectant) is present. Emollients (Squalane, oils) are present but appear after preservatives, suggesting concentrations below 1%, which limits their active contribution to moisture balance in a rinse-off product. This claim is more about not stripping than actively adding significant moisture.
Mentioned only
Formula contains emollients and humectants that contribute to skin feel. Brand states "Tested for safety and gentleness".
Evidence visible
Brand states "Dermatologist-tested for safety" and "Tested for safety and gentleness". The formula is fragrance-free and alcohol-free, which is beneficial for sensitive skin.
Evidence visible
The retrieved INCI list explicitly contains Methylparaben, Propylparaben, and Sodium Methylparaben, directly contradicting the "Paraben-free" claim. The INCI does not list Parfum/Fragrance, silicones, or mineral oil, so those parts of the claim are supported.
Missing
“Paraben-free, fragrance-free, silicone-free, mineral oil-free”
The claim "Paraben-free" is directly contradicted by the retrieved INCI list which contains Methylparaben, Propylparaben, and Sodium Methylparaben. This is a misleading claim under ASCI Chapter 1 (Truthful and Honest).
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps