Getting you a comprehensive review of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →
While clinically shown to help with pores and sebum, this cleanser's fundamental pH claim is contradicted by its ingredients, making it a high-risk choice for many skin types.
₹1,760 • Analysed 25 August 2026
This Medicube Zero Foam Cleanser is positioned at a premium price point (Rs. 1,760-2,200 for 120ml) in the Indian market. While it claims 'pH 5.5 (mildly acidic)', the formula's reliance on a traditional soap base (fatty acids + potassium hydroxide) strongly suggests an alkaline pH, which can be stripping and drying, especially for Indian skin types prone to barrier issues or in drier climates. The presence of fragrance and common allergens like Limonene and Hydroxyl Citronellal, combined with a potentially high pH, increases the risk of irritation for sensitive Indian consumers. The clinical claims for pore and sebum improvement are a positive, but consumers should be aware of the potential for dryness and irritation from the formula's likely high pH.
Independent and free. The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to review, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence review, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of review.
Product format is a foam cleanser, which is visibly evident.
Clinical study on finished product (P&K Skin Research Center, 20 adult women, 5 days) shows improvement in pore size (19.8%) and sebum (20.8%).
Formula contains strong surfactants (soap base from fatty acids + KOH) and amino acid surfactants, suitable for deep cleansing.
Clinical study on finished product shows sebum improved by 20.8%. Formula logic supports impurity removal.
Clinical study on finished product (P&K Skin Research Center, 20 adult women, 5 days) shows pore size improved by 19.8%.
Subjective claim, consistent with the product type and cleansing action of a foam cleanser.
Patented status is noted, but specific ingredients and percentages of the 'Pore Complex' and 'AC-Cure Complex' are not disclosed, nor is finished product evidence for the complexes themselves.
Detailed clinical study results are provided on the brand website: 'Pore size improved by 19.8%', 'Sebum improved by 20.8%', 'Blackheads improved by 19.8%', 'Test subjects: 20 adult women', 'Test institution: P&K Skin Research Center', 'Test period: 2020.07.20 ~ 2020.07.24'.
What we could confirm from public sources and the verified ingredient list.
Ingredient Safety & Toxicity
Full ingredient list retrieved and verified against INCIDecoder.
Screened against the ingredient database (21 of 39 ingredients matched); no cosmetics-prohibited ingredient found.
No ingredient with a recognised endocrine-activity concern found in the database.
No IARC-classified or formaldehyde-releasing ingredient found in the database screen.
No commonly-comedogenic ingredient found - a reasonable fit for acne-prone skin.
Irritation & Allergen Risk
Declares 1 known allergen(s) (limonene). Reactive skin should note these.
No high-sensitisation preservative (MI/MCI/formaldehyde-releaser) from our screen was found.
Uses milder (non-sulphate) surfactants.
Ingredient Transparency
The full INCI list is publicly available, not just hero ingredients.
Ingredients are listed in the descending order required by India Cosmetics Rules 2020.
Standards & Compliance
Usage warnings and directions are clear on the label.
Screened against a curated reference set that we are continuing to verify and expand, so “clear” means no flag from that set, not a guarantee. Not a substitute for a full toxicological or clinical assessment.
| Ingredient |
|---|
Water |
Glycerin |
Myristic Acid |
Sorbitol |
Palmitic Acid |
Stearic Acid |
Potassium Hydroxide |
Lauric Acid |
Cetearyl Olivate |
Potassium Cocoyl Glycinate |
Parfum (Fragrance) |
Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate |
Sorbitan Olivate |
Potassium Cocoate |
Coconut Acid |
Butylene Glycol |
Sodium Isethionate |
Sodium Polyacrylate |
Portulaca Oleracea Extract |
Gaultheria Procumbens (Winterg Reen) Leaf Extract |
Disodium EDTA |
Camellia Japonica Flower Extract |
Propanediol |
Diisopropyl Adipate |
Lecithin |
1,2 -Hexanediol |
Saponaria Officinalis Leaf Extract |
Acrylic Acid/Acrylamidomethyl Propane Sulfonic Acid Copolymer |
Dimethylmethoxy Chromanol |
Glyceryl Caprylate |
Citric Acid |
Potassium Sorbate |
Sodium Benzoate |
Xanthan Gum |
Chaenomeles Sinensis Fruit Extract |
Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Flower Extract |
Melissa Officinalis Extract |
Limonene |
Hydroxyl Citronellal |
INCI order as declared on packaging. Position reflects approximate concentration (high to low).
Limonene, Hydroxyl Citronellal are restricted fragrance allergens.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
“pH 5.5 (mildly acidic)”
Claim about pH is directly contradicted by the product's ingredient list and basic chemistry, making it misleading under ASCI Chapter 1 (Truthful and Honest).
“Non-drying formula”
The claim of 'non-drying' is likely misleading for a traditional soap-based cleanser with an inherently high pH, potentially violating ASCI Chapter 1 (Truthful and Honest).
Product format is a foam cleanser, which is visibly evident.
Evidence visible
Clinical study on finished product (P&K Skin Research Center, 20 adult women, 5 days) shows improvement in pore size (19.8%) and sebum (20.8%).
Evidence visible
Formula contains strong surfactants (soap base from fatty acids + KOH) and amino acid surfactants, suitable for deep cleansing.
Evidence visible
Clinical study on finished product shows sebum improved by 20.8%. Formula logic supports impurity removal.
Evidence visible
Clinical study on finished product (P&K Skin Research Center, 20 adult women, 5 days) shows pore size improved by 19.8%.
Evidence visible
Subjective claim, consistent with the product type and cleansing action of a foam cleanser.
Evidence visible
Patented status is noted, but specific ingredients and percentages of the 'Pore Complex' and 'AC-Cure Complex' are not disclosed, nor is finished product evidence for the complexes themselves.
Mentioned only
Detailed clinical study results are provided on the brand website: 'Pore size improved by 19.8%', 'Sebum improved by 20.8%', 'Blackheads improved by 19.8%', 'Test subjects: 20 adult women', 'Test institution: P&K Skin Research Center', 'Test period: 2020.07.20 ~ 2020.07.24'.
Evidence visible
Brand states 'Hypoallergenic tested'. No details on the specific test methodology or population are publicly provided. The formula's likely high pH and fragrance suggest potential for irritation for sensitive skin.
Evidence visible
The INCI lists fatty acids (Myristic, Palmitic, Stearic, Lauric) and Potassium Hydroxide, which form traditional soap. This formulation inherently results in an alkaline pH (typically 9-11), making a pH of 5.5 chemically impossible for this product.
Missing
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps
This review evaluates brand claims against visible evidence and formula logic. It does not replace a full ingredient safety analysis or a clinical product test. Results vary by individual, and the consumer should always read the full ingredient list and follow usage guidance.
Are you the brand? If you have published test data or want to request a re-review, write to us at hello@thecleansheet.in.
No IARC-classified or formaldehyde-releasing ingredient found in the database screen.
No commonly-comedogenic ingredient found - a reasonable fit for acne-prone skin.
Irritation & Allergen Risk
Declares 1 known allergen(s) (limonene). Reactive skin should note these.
No high-sensitisation preservative (MI/MCI/formaldehyde-releaser) from our screen was found.
Uses milder (non-sulphate) surfactants.
Ingredient Transparency
The full INCI list is publicly available, not just hero ingredients.
Ingredients are listed in the descending order required by India Cosmetics Rules 2020.
Standards & Compliance
Usage warnings and directions are clear on the label.
Screened against a curated reference set that we are continuing to verify and expand, so “clear” means no flag from that set, not a guarantee. Not a substitute for a full toxicological or clinical assessment.
Clinical study on finished product shows sebum improved by 20.8%. Formula logic supports impurity removal.
Clinical study on finished product (P&K Skin Research Center, 20 adult women, 5 days) shows pore size improved by 19.8%.
Subjective claim, consistent with the product type and cleansing action of a foam cleanser.
Patented status is noted, but specific ingredients and percentages of the 'Pore Complex' and 'AC-Cure Complex' are not disclosed, nor is finished product evidence for the complexes themselves.
Detailed clinical study results are provided on the brand website: 'Pore size improved by 19.8%', 'Sebum improved by 20.8%', 'Blackheads improved by 19.8%', 'Test subjects: 20 adult women', 'Test institution: P&K Skin Research Center', 'Test period: 2020.07.20 ~ 2020.07.24'.
Limonene, Hydroxyl Citronellal are restricted fragrance allergens.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
Product format is a foam cleanser, which is visibly evident.
Evidence visible
Clinical study on finished product (P&K Skin Research Center, 20 adult women, 5 days) shows improvement in pore size (19.8%) and sebum (20.8%).
Evidence visible
Formula contains strong surfactants (soap base from fatty acids + KOH) and amino acid surfactants, suitable for deep cleansing.
Evidence visible
Clinical study on finished product shows sebum improved by 20.8%. Formula logic supports impurity removal.
Evidence visible
Clinical study on finished product (P&K Skin Research Center, 20 adult women, 5 days) shows pore size improved by 19.8%.
Evidence visible
Subjective claim, consistent with the product type and cleansing action of a foam cleanser.
Evidence visible
Patented status is noted, but specific ingredients and percentages of the 'Pore Complex' and 'AC-Cure Complex' are not disclosed, nor is finished product evidence for the complexes themselves.
Mentioned only
Detailed clinical study results are provided on the brand website: 'Pore size improved by 19.8%', 'Sebum improved by 20.8%', 'Blackheads improved by 19.8%', 'Test subjects: 20 adult women', 'Test institution: P&K Skin Research Center', 'Test period: 2020.07.20 ~ 2020.07.24'.
Evidence visible
Brand states 'Hypoallergenic tested'. No details on the specific test methodology or population are publicly provided. The formula's likely high pH and fragrance suggest potential for irritation for sensitive skin.
Evidence visible
The INCI lists fatty acids (Myristic, Palmitic, Stearic, Lauric) and Potassium Hydroxide, which form traditional soap. This formulation inherently results in an alkaline pH (typically 9-11), making a pH of 5.5 chemically impossible for this product.
Missing
“pH 5.5 (mildly acidic)”
Claim about pH is directly contradicted by the product's ingredient list and basic chemistry, making it misleading under ASCI Chapter 1 (Truthful and Honest).
“Non-drying formula”
The claim of 'non-drying' is likely misleading for a traditional soap-based cleanser with an inherently high pH, potentially violating ASCI Chapter 1 (Truthful and Honest).
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps