Getting you a comprehensive review of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →
Olay's Retinol 24 Night Moisturiser offers a promising blend of anti-ageing actives, but its most ambitious claims outrun the publicly available evidence, requiring consumers to rely heavily on brand trust rather than verifiable data.
₹1,099 • Analysed 17 July 2026
In India's warm, humid climate a lighter leave-on layer tends to wear more comfortably; how it feels can shift between air-conditioned indoors and humid outdoors. The product is consistently offered at a significant discount (45% off MRP) across major Indian marketplaces, making it more accessible. However, the brand's own website lists it at full MRP, suggesting a potential pricing strategy that leverages marketplace discounts. 3 marketing claims could draw ASCI scrutiny under India's advertising code; the ingredient list is the more reliable guide.
Independent and free. The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to review, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence review, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of review.
Supported by general research on retinoids and niacinamide for anti-ageing benefits. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Claim is supported by 'Fragrance Free' formulation and 'Dermatologist Tested' claim. Olay generally formulates its Retinol 24 line to minimize irritation.
INCI list (from INCIDecoder) does not contain 'Parfum' or 'Fragrance', supporting this claim.
Supported by general research on retinoids and niacinamide. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Supported by general research on retinoids. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Supported by general research on niacinamide and retinoids. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Supported by general research on niacinamide and retinoids. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
While glycerin is present, a 24-hour hydration claim requires specific finished product instrumental testing. No such study is publicly visible for this product.
What we could confirm from public sources and the verified ingredient list.
Irritation & Allergen Risk
Brand claims dermatologist testing (claim stated; underlying report not seen).
Ingredient Transparency
The full INCI list is publicly available, not just hero ingredients.
Ingredients are listed in the descending order required by India Cosmetics Rules 2020.
Standards & Compliance
No retinoid or other pregnancy-cautioned active found in the screen.
Screened against a curated reference set that we are continuing to verify and expand, so “clear” means no flag from that set, not a guarantee. Not a substitute for a full toxicological or clinical assessment.
| Ingredient |
|---|
INCI order as declared on packaging. Position reflects approximate concentration (high to low).
“Hydrates better than the #1 Retinol product”
Comparative claim without naming competitor or providing verifiable basis (ASCI Chapter 1.4).
“Penetrates up to 10 layers deep into skin”
Quantified claim without a published, verifiable study (ASCI Chapter 1.4).
“Experience the power of Retinol 24 for 28 days”
Quantified claim without a published, verifiable study (ASCI Chapter 1.4).
Supported by general research on retinoids and niacinamide for anti-ageing benefits. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Mentioned only
Claim is supported by 'Fragrance Free' formulation and 'Dermatologist Tested' claim. Olay generally formulates its Retinol 24 line to minimize irritation.
Evidence visible
INCI list (from INCIDecoder) does not contain 'Parfum' or 'Fragrance', supporting this claim.
Evidence visible
Supported by general research on retinoids and niacinamide. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Mentioned only
Supported by general research on retinoids. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Mentioned only
Supported by general research on niacinamide and retinoids. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Mentioned only
Supported by general research on niacinamide and retinoids. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Mentioned only
While glycerin is present, a 24-hour hydration claim requires specific finished product instrumental testing. No such study is publicly visible for this product.
Mentioned only
Brand states product is dermatologist tested. While no specific report is visible, this is a common claim for Olay products.
Evidence visible
INCI (from INCIDecoder) lists Retinyl Propionate, Retinol (Retinoid Complex) and Niacinamide (Vitamin B3). Percentages are not disclosed, but their position in INCI suggests meaningful concentration.
Mentioned only
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps
This review evaluates brand claims against visible evidence and formula logic. It does not replace a full ingredient safety analysis or a clinical product test. Results vary by individual, and the consumer should always read the full ingredient list and follow usage guidance.
Are you the brand? If you have published test data or want to request a re-review, write to us at hello@thecleansheet.in.
No retinoid or other pregnancy-cautioned active found in the screen.
Supported by general research on retinoids and niacinamide. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Supported by general research on retinoids. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Supported by general research on niacinamide and retinoids. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Supported by general research on niacinamide and retinoids. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
While glycerin is present, a 24-hour hydration claim requires specific finished product instrumental testing. No such study is publicly visible for this product.
Supported by general research on retinoids and niacinamide for anti-ageing benefits. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Mentioned only
Claim is supported by 'Fragrance Free' formulation and 'Dermatologist Tested' claim. Olay generally formulates its Retinol 24 line to minimize irritation.
Evidence visible
INCI list (from INCIDecoder) does not contain 'Parfum' or 'Fragrance', supporting this claim.
Evidence visible
Supported by general research on retinoids and niacinamide. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Mentioned only
Supported by general research on retinoids. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Mentioned only
Supported by general research on niacinamide and retinoids. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Mentioned only
Supported by general research on niacinamide and retinoids. No finished product study for this specific claim publicly visible.
Mentioned only
While glycerin is present, a 24-hour hydration claim requires specific finished product instrumental testing. No such study is publicly visible for this product.
Mentioned only
Brand states product is dermatologist tested. While no specific report is visible, this is a common claim for Olay products.
Evidence visible
INCI (from INCIDecoder) lists Retinyl Propionate, Retinol (Retinoid Complex) and Niacinamide (Vitamin B3). Percentages are not disclosed, but their position in INCI suggests meaningful concentration.
Mentioned only
“Hydrates better than the #1 Retinol product”
Comparative claim without naming competitor or providing verifiable basis (ASCI Chapter 1.4).
“Penetrates up to 10 layers deep into skin”
Quantified claim without a published, verifiable study (ASCI Chapter 1.4).
“Experience the power of Retinol 24 for 28 days”
Quantified claim without a published, verifiable study (ASCI Chapter 1.4).
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps