Getting you a comprehensive analysis of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Getting you a comprehensive analysis of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →
A well-formulated premium foundation that largely delivers on its claims, but sensitive skin types should be mindful of the added fragrance.
This Bobbi Brown foundation is positioned as a premium product in the Indian market, reflected in its Rs.4990 price point for 30ml. Its claims of 24-hour wear, oil control, and sweat/humidity resistance are highly relevant for India's diverse and often humid climate, particularly for consumers with Fitzpatrick III-V skin types prone to hyperpigmentation. The SPF 15 offers basic sun protection, but Indian consumers are advised to use a dedicated sunscreen with higher SPF for adequate protection against high UV index conditions. The presence of fragrance allergens like Lavender Oil, Linalool, and Linalyl Acetate may be a concern for sensitive Indian skin types.
The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to analyse, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence analysis, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of analysis.
Consumer testing on 157 women after 1 week of product use states '95% say the formula is long-wearing'. However, specific data for '24-hour moisture' and '24-hour wear' is not detailed beyond this general statement.
Consumer testing on 166 women after 1 week of product use states '96% say it leaves skin looking balanced' and '91% say it leaves bare skin looking healthier', supporting a natural, skin-like finish.
This is a proprietary marketing term. The ingredients list includes oil-absorbing silicas, hyaluronic acid, glycerin, and honey extract which contribute to skin balancing, but the 'technology' itself is not detailed.
Oil-absorbing silicas are present in the INCI, supporting the oil control claim. 'All day' is a time-bound claim, but specific finished product evidence for 'all day oil control' is not publicly detailed beyond ingredient function.
The formulation with silicones (Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate) and lightweight texture supports comfort and breathability. Consumer testing indicates a positive user experience.
Silica is present in the INCI. Its known function is oil absorption. The presence of humectants (Glycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Honey Extract) supports the 'without stripping moisture' aspect.
Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic Acid), Glycerin, and Honey Extract are all present in the INCI, supporting the claim of a 'Tri-Moisture Complex' and their known humectant functions.
The formulation with silicones (Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Polysilicone-11) contributes to water, sweat, and transfer resistance. Consumer testing on 166 women after 1 week of product use supports 'reduces the look of pores' (implied by 'healthier' and 'balanced' skin).
Supported by consumer testing on 166 women after 1 week of product use.
Supported by consumer testing on 166 women after 1 week of product use.
Checked against the ingredient list as declared. It is not a substitute for a full regulatory assessment.
How we read this product across five areas. Open any row for the full reasoning.
Octinoxate: Active · A chemical UV filter providing UVB protection, listed at 6.7%.
Titanium Dioxide: Active · A mineral UV filter providing broad-spectrum UV protection, listed at 1.6%.
Acetyl Glucosamine: Active · An amino sugar that can help improve skin tone and reduce hyperpigmentation.
Laminaria Saccharina Extract: Active · A type of brown algae extract, often used for its skin-conditioning and oil-regulating properties.
The foundation's formula is well-aligned with its claims. Silicones (Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Polysilicone-11) are high in the INCI, supporting the long-wear, transfer-resistant, and matte finish claims. Humectants (Glycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Honey Extract) are present to balance the oil control, preventing a stripped feeling. Oil-absorbing Silica is also present. The SPF 15 is delivered by Octinoxate and Titanium Dioxide at effective concentrations. Salicylic Acid is present, but its position lower in the INCI suggests a supporting role rather than a primary treatment for acne.
Worth knowing: Lavender Oil (Lavandula Angustifolia Oil, Lavandula Hybrida Oil), Linalool, Linalyl Acetate are fragrance ingredients that can be sensitizing for some individuals..
Strongest public evidence: level 4 of 7. Delivers on its promise of a natural matte, long-wearing finish with good oil control and hydration.
Long-wear foundation that delivers 24-hour moisture and 24-hour wear: Consumer testing on 157 women after 1 week of product use states '95% say the formula is long-wearing'. However, specific data for '24-hour moisture' and '24-hour wear' is not detailed beyond this general statement.
natural matte finish that looks like skin, not makeup: Consumer testing on 166 women after 1 week of product use states '96% say it leaves skin looking balanced' and '91% say it leaves bare skin looking healthier', supporting a natural, skin-like finish.
delivering medium coverage that feels comfortable and breathable: The formulation with silicones (Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate) and lightweight texture supports comfort and breathability. Consumer testing indicates a positive user experience.
11 marketing claims checked. 0 ASCI concern(s), 0 drug-boundary flag(s).
pH not disclosed where relevant (e.g., for Salicylic Acid).
Daily use as a base makeup step, after skincare and dedicated sunscreen.
Pairs well with hydrating primers or moisturizers. A dedicated sunscreen should be applied underneath for robust UV protection.
Smooth, natural matte finish with medium coverage that feels lightweight.
Balanced skin with controlled oil and shine, and potentially improved skin texture due to actives like Salicylic Acid and Acetyl Glucosamine.
The complete ingredient list we reviewed contains no explicit fragrance declaration or essential oil.
Ingredient-level flags from our reference data: Salicylic Acid: Caution during pregnancy is precautionary only: low-concentration topical use is generally considered acceptable, but high-dose or large-area use is commonly cautioned and oral salicylates are contraindicated, so ask a clinician if unsure. (source: EU CosIng Annex III/V; US 21 CFR 333 OTC acne monograph; India CR 2020; CIR). Exposure category: unknown. This is not a product safety conclusion. Ask a healthcare professional.
None is prohibited; 1 restricted ingredient could not be checked (strength or conditions not stated).
30ml · from Rs.4990 on Nykaa (for 30ml, before offers) (Rs.166.33/ml). Seen at Brand Website Rs.4990, Nykaa Rs.4990, Myntra Rs.2450 and Tira Rs.4990.
6 of 10 claims are publicly supported; 4 need proof.
People to take care with: Very sensitive to fragrance; Seeking high SPF coverage; Very dry or flaky skin.
Analysed on 4 Nov 2026 from bobbibrowncosmetics.com. Nykaa (39 ingredients) lists a different ingredient list; this analysis used the most complete one. We re-check analyses older than six months.
Understand what each product rating means.
Meets our review criteria
Available evidence supports the criteria assessed under The Clean Sheet Standard.
Further verification needed
Some assessment criteria require additional evidence or clarification.
Does not meet review criteria
One or more material criteria were not met based on the evidence reviewed. See assessment details.
Not yet assessed
We have not completed an assessment of this product.
Grey means we have not yet assessed this product. It does not mean the product is unsafe.
Want to read about our standard?