Getting you a comprehensive analysis of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Getting you a comprehensive analysis of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →
Cetaphil Moisturising Cream delivers on its core promise of barrier repair and hydration with solid clinical backing, making it a reliable choice for sensitive, dry skin, despite some ingredient list variations across global markets.
Cetaphil Moisturising Cream is a well-established product in the Indian market, positioned as a dermatologist-recommended solution for dry and sensitive skin. Its rich, occlusive formula is well-suited for dry indoor environments (AC exposure) and mild winter conditions prevalent in India, effectively combating moisture loss. While the product is generally well-regarded, the significant price variations across Indian e-commerce platforms (from Rs.452 to Rs.899 for 100g) highlight the need for consumers to shop around for the best deal. The brand's claims of 'Restores Damaged Skin Barrier In 1 Week' and '48-hour hydration' are backed by clinical studies, which is a strong point for ASCI compliance in a market where such claims are often made without robust evidence.
The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to analyse, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence analysis, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of analysis.
Clinically tested to accelerate skin repair after barrier damage with full repair/restoration after 1 week. Supported by clinical studies: one on 32 subjects for 2 weeks (I.E.C., France, July 2020) and another on 50 subjects for 14 days (Biometrix, Inc., USA, July-August 2017).
Supported by the formula's blend of emollients (Petrolatum, Dimethicone, Almond Oil) and humectants (Glycerin), and clinical claims of 48-hour hydration.
Clinically proven to provide intense and lasting 48-hours hydration. Supported by a clinical study of applying the cream once on 50 subjects (Biometrix, Inc., USA, November 2017).
Derived from the complete, source-backed ingredient list; no explicit fragrance declaration or essential oil was found.
This is a brand claim. TCS has not reviewed matching product-specific evidence for the claim. Its presence does not change the product rating by itself.
Supported by the presence of occlusive ingredients like Petrolatum and Dimethicone, and humectant Glycerin, which are known to reduce transepidermal water loss (TEWL).
A general cosmetic claim well-supported by the emollient and moisturizing properties of the formula.
Supported by the gentle, fragrance-free, paraben-free formulation and the claim of being 'dermatologist tested and clinically proven to be gentle on sensitive skin'.
Supported by the emollient-rich, gentle formula designed for sensitive skin.
General cosmetic claim. While improved hydration can lead to a healthier-looking complexion, specific evidence for 'dull skin recovery' beyond general moisturization is not explicitly provided for this product.
Checked against the ingredient list as declared. It is not a substitute for a full regulatory assessment.
How we read this product across five areas. Open any row for the full reasoning.
Benzyl Alcohol: Preservative · A preservative and solvent, also used as a fragrance component (though this product is fragrance-free).
The formula is a classic rich cream, with a strong base of occlusives (Petrolatum, Dimethicone), humectants (Glycerin, Propylene Glycol), and emollients (Dicaprylyl Ether, Cetyl Alcohol, Sunflower Seed Oil, Almond Oil). This composition is highly appropriate for its claims of deep hydration and barrier repair. The key actives are present high in the INCI, indicating meaningful concentrations. The fragrance-free and paraben-free nature further supports its suitability for sensitive skin. While some global variants mention Niacinamide and Panthenol, the provided INCI for this specific product does not, but the claims on the Nykaa page are well-supported by the ingredients listed.
Strongest public evidence: level 6 of 7. The product's core claims of 1-week barrier repair and 48-hour hydration are genuinely backed by multiple clinical studies.
Restores Damaged Skin Barrier In 1 Week: Clinically tested to accelerate skin repair after barrier damage with full repair/restoration after 1 week. Supported by clinical studies: one on 32 subjects for 2 weeks (I.E.C., France, July 2020) and another on 50 subjects for 14 days (Biometrix, Inc., USA, July-August 2017).
sustained hydration / Provides Long-Lasting Hydration / 48-hours hydration: Clinically proven to provide intense and lasting 48-hours hydration. Supported by a clinical study of applying the cream once on 50 subjects (Biometrix, Inc., USA, November 2017).
deep, barrier-focused hydration: Supported by the formula's blend of emollients (Petrolatum, Dimethicone, Almond Oil) and humectants (Glycerin), and clinical claims of 48-hour hydration.
16 marketing claims checked. 0 ASCI concern(s), 0 drug-boundary flag(s).
No active percentages disclosed.
Fragrance composition not disclosed beyond 'fragrance-free' (though no fragrance is present).
pH not disclosed.
Daily, morning and evening, as a primary moisturizing step.
Apply after cleansing and any serums. Can be layered under sunscreen during the day.
Skin will feel immediately hydrated, soothed, and less tight.
Improved skin barrier function, reduced dryness, and softer, smoother skin within a week of consistent use.
The complete ingredient list we reviewed contains no explicit fragrance declaration or essential oil.
No sourced pregnancy flags were found for the ingredients screened. This is not proof that the product is safe during pregnancy. Exposure category: leave-on. Ingredients not resolved: Dicaprylyl Ether and PEG-30 Stearate. Ask a healthcare professional.
None is prohibited.
100g · from Rs.452.12 on BigBasket (Rs.4.52–8.99/g). Seen at Nykaa Rs.746, Amazon India Rs.819, Flipkart Rs.899, Brand Website Rs.755, Netmeds Rs.685.94, BigBasket Rs.452.12 and Purplle Rs.737.
8 of 10 claims are publicly supported; 2 need proof.
People to take care with: You prefer lightweight textures; You have very oily skin; You seek active treatments (acids/retinoids).
Analysed on 30 Oct 2026 from INKEE Decoder. We re-check analyses older than six months.
Understand what each product rating means.
Meets our review criteria
Available evidence supports the criteria assessed under The Clean Sheet Standard.
Further verification needed
Some assessment criteria require additional evidence or clarification.
Does not meet review criteria
One or more material criteria were not met based on the evidence reviewed. See assessment details.
Not yet assessed
We have not completed an assessment of this product.
Grey means we have not yet assessed this product. It does not mean the product is unsafe.
Want to read about our standard?