Getting you a comprehensive analysis of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Getting you a comprehensive analysis of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →
Dot & Key's Watermelon Cooling Sunscreen delivers on its core promise of high SPF/PA and a pleasant user experience, but some broader claims could benefit from more specific, publicly visible finished-product evidence.
This Dot & Key sunscreen is well-positioned for the Indian market, offering SPF 50+ PA++++ protection which is crucial for high UV conditions. Its 'cooling' and 'no white cast' claims are highly relevant for Indian consumers, especially those with oily/combination skin in hot and humid climates. The brand's use of in-vivo testing for SPF/PA is a strong point for regulatory compliance and consumer trust in India. The 'Boosts Vitamin D Absorption' claim, while appealing, lacks specific finished-product evidence and could attract ASCI scrutiny if not carefully qualified.
The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to analyse, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence analysis, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of analysis.
This is a brand claim. TCS has not reviewed matching product-specific evidence for the claim. Its presence does not change the product rating by itself.
Explicitly stated to be tested by CCFT Laboratories Pvt. Ltd. as per ISO 24444:2019.
Self-assessment study on 36 subjects with oily/combination skin reported 97% felt instant cooling sensation on skin. Menthyl Lactate is present in the INCI.
Self-assessment study on 36 subjects with oily/combination skin reported 99% agreed that it leaves no white cast.
Contains Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic Acid) and Glycerin, both known humectants, high in the INCI. Watermelon Fruit Extract also contributes to hydration.
Self-assessment study on 36 subjects with oily/combination skin supports a non-oily finish. Watermelon extract is often associated with oil control.
While SPF/PA testing confirms UVA/UVB protection, specific clinical evidence for blue light and IR protection for this finished product is not publicly visible. Dermatocare notes 'No visible or blue light protection, and does not cover IR or pollution' for the main sunscreen.
Claim is linked to Beet Root Extract. While some research exists on Vitamin D synthesis and skin, specific finished product evidence for 'boosting Vitamin D absorption' is not publicly visible. This is an ingredient-level claim without product-specific proof.
This is a brand claim. TCS has not reviewed matching product-specific evidence for the claim. Its presence does not change the product rating by itself.
Derived from the complete, source-backed ingredient list; no explicit fragrance declaration or essential oil was found.
Checked against the ingredient list as declared. It is not a substitute for a full regulatory assessment.
How we read this product across five areas. Open any row for the full reasoning.
Find them in the ingredient list: Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate (Hormone disruptor), Benzophenone-3 (Hormone disruptor)
Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate: Sunscreen · A chemical UV filter primarily protecting against UVB rays.
Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane: Sunscreen · A chemical UV filter providing UVA protection.
Benzophenone-3: Sunscreen · A chemical UV filter offering broad-spectrum protection, but sometimes associated with environmental concerns.
Isopropyl Myristate: Emollient · An emollient that helps spreadability and can give a silky feel, but can be comedogenic for some.
Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate is flagged as a hormone disruptor. Found in the ingredient list read from INKEE Decoder on 1 Nov 2026.
The formula is a water-based emulsion, suitable for a lightweight, gel-like sunscreen. It contains a blend of chemical and mineral UV filters (Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Benzophenone-3, Titanium Dioxide) to achieve broad-spectrum SPF 50+ PA++++. Humectants like Glycerin and Sodium Hyaluronate support hydration claims. Menthyl Lactate is present to provide the cooling sensation. The actives are generally well-placed to support the primary claims, though Menthyl Lactate is lower in the INCI, suggesting a milder cooling effect. The 'no white cast' claim is supported by the choice of filters and formulation.
The claim of 'Total Light Protection against UVA, UVB, Blue Light & IR rays' is ambitious. While the UV filters provide UVA/UVB protection, specific evidence for comprehensive blue light and IR protection for this finished product is not publicly visible. The 'Boosts Vitamin D Absorption' claim also lacks specific finished-product evidence.
Worth knowing: Isopropyl Myristate can be comedogenic for some individuals, especially those prone to acne..
Strongest public evidence: level 6 of 7. The product offers robust SPF 50+ PA++++ protection, validated by in-vivo testing, with a cosmetically elegant, no-white-cast, and cooling formula.
SPF 50+ PA++++: In-vivo SPF testing as per International Standards IS 17494 : 2025 (ISO 24444 : 2019, MOD) by CCFT Laboratories Pvt. Ltd. reported an in-vivo SPF of 71.38 and PA++++ rating.
In-Vivo Tested: Explicitly stated to be tested by CCFT Laboratories Pvt. Ltd. as per ISO 24444:2019.
Checks tanning & sunburn: Supported by the SPF 50+ PA++++ rating and in-vivo testing, which directly measures protection against sunburn (UVB) and tanning (UVA).
15 marketing claims checked. 1 ASCI concern(s), 0 drug-boundary flag(s).
Active percentages for hero ingredients (e.g., Hyaluronic Acid, Watermelon Extract) are not disclosed.
pH is not disclosed, which is not critical for a sunscreen but would enhance transparency.
Daily morning use, as the last step in skincare before makeup.
Applies well under makeup as a primer. Reapply every 2-3 hours during sun exposure, especially after sweating or swimming.
Lightweight, non-greasy feel with an instant cooling sensation and no white cast.
Effective sun protection, reduced tanning and sunburn, and maintained skin hydration.
The complete ingredient list we reviewed contains no explicit fragrance declaration or essential oil.
Ingredient-level flags from our reference data: Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate: Caution during pregnancy is precautionary only: it is endocrine-active in laboratory studies, though the SCCS judged it safe up to 10% in sunscreen, face, hand and lip products (SCCS/1671/24). (source: EU Annex VI; SCCS/1671/24; SCCS reassessment; FDA 2021 proposed rule; Hawaii ban; coral reef data); Benzophenone-3: Caution during pregnancy is precautionary only: it is absorbed through the skin and found in placental tissue, and studies of exposure in pregnancy report mixed birth outcomes, though the SCCS found the endocrine evidence inconclusive (SCCS/1625/20). (source: EU Annex VI Commission Regulation 2022; FDA 2021; SCCS/1625/20; SCCS/1593/17; Hawaii SB2571). Exposure category: leave-on. This is not a product safety conclusion. Ask a healthcare professional.
None is prohibited; 1 restricted ingredient could not be checked (strength or conditions not stated).
50g · from Rs.263 on Zepto (30g) (Rs.5.28/g (for 50g at Rs.264)). Seen at Blinkit Rs.264, Zepto Rs.263, Purplle Rs.329, Flipkart Rs.445 and Nykaa Rs.445.
5 of 10 claims are publicly supported; 5 need proof.
People to take care with: Acne-prone or breakout-prone skin: contains Ethylhexyl Palmitate and Isopropyl Myristate, commonly rated comedogenic; You react to Benzophenone-3; You have very dry skin (may need more occlusive moisturizer); You are sensitive to cooling agents.
Analysed on 1 Nov 2026 from INKEE Decoder. We re-check analyses older than six months.
Understand what each product rating means.
Meets our review criteria
Available evidence supports the criteria assessed under The Clean Sheet Standard.
Further verification needed
Some assessment criteria require additional evidence or clarification.
Does not meet review criteria
One or more material criteria were not met based on the evidence reviewed. See assessment details.
Not yet assessed
We have not completed an assessment of this product.
Grey means we have not yet assessed this product. It does not mean the product is unsafe.
Want to read about our standard?