Getting you a comprehensive review of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →
A penta-filter chemical sunscreen using five EU-approved next-generation UV filters (Tinosorb M, Tinosorb S, Uvinul A Plus, Uvinul T150, Neo Heliopan AP), none of which are Oxybenzone, Octinoxate, Homosalate, or Octocrylene. The SPF 100 and PA++++ values are backed by published test reports on the brand website, which is meaningfully more public evidence than most Indian sunscreens provide. Two ingredients in this leave-on daily formula carry fragrance allergen flags: Benzyl Alcohol is an EU-listed fragrance allergen under EU Regulation 2023/1545, and Cymbopogon Flexuosus Leaf Oil (lemongrass) is a natural fragrance source containing Citral, also a recognised allergen. The brand accurately states it uses no synthetic fragrances, but this product is not fragrance-free. The 12-hour protection claim references a French clinical study that is not publicly accessible.
₹500-₹1,000 • Analysed 10 June 2026
The filter selection here is well-suited to Indian conditions: all five UV filters are photostable, meaning their UVA and UVB protection does not degrade under the intense UV exposure typical of India's climate the way older filter systems can. Niacinamide in the formula helps reduce post-UV darkening, which is relevant for Fitzpatrick III-VI skin tones. Fragrance-sensitive or atopic individuals should note Benzyl Alcohol and lemongrass essential oil, both EU-listed allergens. Reapply every two hours in direct sun regardless of the 12-hour claim, as physical removal from sweat and activity reduces effective filter coverage.
Independent and free. The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to review, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence review, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of review.
A published SPF test report is accessible on the brand website, which confirms testing was conducted. The SPF 100 value is unusually high and no standardised ISO method above SPF 50+ is publicly confirmed, but the test report is more evidence than most Indian sunscreens provide.
The brand references a French clinical study for this claim, but the full study including method, subject count, setting, and result scope is not publicly accessible and cannot be verified from available public evidence.
The brand's claim is technically accurate: no Parfum or synthetic fragrance compounds are in the ingredient list. However, Benzyl Alcohol and lemongrass essential oil are natural fragrance allergens present in the formula, which consumers may not distinguish from synthetic fragrance when assessing sensitivities.
Individual test report images for these claims are published in the brand's Proof of the Code section, which is substantially more evidence than badge-only claims.
A published test report for sweat resistance is available on the brand website.
How we read this product across 5 areas. Open any row for the full rationale.
The full ingredient list is publicly available on codeskin.in. All five UV filters are newer-generation, photostable, and approved under EU and Indian cosmetics regulations. None of the problematic filters found in many Indian sunscreens are present: no Oxybenzone, no Octinoxate, no Homosalate, no Octocrylene. This filter selection is genuinely better than most Indian sunscreens on the market. Two fragrance-related concerns are visible from the public ingredient list. Benzyl Alcohol is used here as a preservation booster but is also an EU-listed fragrance allergen under EU Regulation 2023/1545. In a daily leave-on sunscreen applied across the full face, this allergen status warrants disclosure for fragrance-sensitive consumers. Cymbopogon Flexuosus Leaf Oil (lemongrass essential oil) contains Citral, a recognised fragrance allergen and potential photosensitiser on a leave-on formula exposed to sunlight. The brand's claim of no synthetic fragrances is technically accurate, but natural fragrance sources carry the same sensitisation risk as synthetic ones. These are not disqualifying concerns at normal sunscreen concentrations, but they are not apparent from the brand's own claims alone.
The formula structure is consistent with a high-performance multi-filter chemical sunscreen. Five UV filters covering different wavelength ranges provide broad-spectrum coverage with photostability built in. Tinosorb M and Tinosorb S are among the most photostable UV filters available globally and are not available in the US market. Niacinamide appears fairly early in the ingredient list, before several minor emollients and botanicals, suggesting a meaningful concentration relevant for its anti-inflammatory and anti-pigmentation benefit. The preservation system uses Sodium Levulinate, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Benzyl Alcohol, and Glyceryl Caprylate, a phenoxyethanol-free system consistent with the brand's declared formulation charter. One formulation note: Potassium Sorbate and Sodium Benzoate are most effective at a pH below 5, and sunscreen formulas are typically formulated at higher pH values. The multi-component preservation system likely compensates, but pH is not publicly disclosed. The formula's packaging (described as a fluid) is appropriate for sunscreen.
Published SPF test report available. Some claims need more context.
CodeSkin publishes more public test evidence than most Indian brands. The SPF 100 and PA++++ values are supported by a published SPF test report. Non-comedogenic, dermatologist tested, ophthalmologist tested, water and sweat resistance, and moisturisation all have corresponding test reports in the brand's Proof of the Code section. These represent a substantially stronger evidence base than the unsubstantiated badge claims that are standard in the Indian market. Two claims remain unverified from public evidence. The 12-hour protection claim references a French clinical study, but the full study details including method, subject count, setting, and scope are not publicly accessible and cannot be verified. The SPF 100 claim is also unusual: no standardised ISO or BIS method has been publicly confirmed for SPF values this high, and the FDA caps SPF claims at 50+ in the US market (though India and EU do not impose the same cap). The brand's no synthetic fragrances positioning is accurate, but Benzyl Alcohol and lemongrass essential oil are fragrance allergens that consumers may not expect in a product marketed with that language.
“SPF 100 PA++++” A published SPF test report is accessible on the brand website, which confirms testing was conducted. The SPF 100 value is unusually high and no standardised ISO method above SPF 50+ is publicly confirmed, but the test report is more evidence than most Indian sunscreens provide.
“12-hour protection” The brand references a French clinical study for this claim, but the full study including method, subject count, setting, and result scope is not publicly accessible and cannot be verified from available public evidence.
“No synthetic fragrances” The brand's claim is technically accurate: no Parfum or synthetic fragrance compounds are in the ingredient list. However, Benzyl Alcohol and lemongrass essential oil are natural fragrance allergens present in the formula, which consumers may not distinguish from synthetic fragrance when assessing sensitivities.
The full ingredient list is publicly accessible on the brand website. CodeSkin publishes individual test report images for SPF, non-comedogenic, dermatologist tested, ophthalmologist tested, and sweat resistance, which is an unusually high level of public evidence for an Indian brand of this scale. The brand also makes its GMP manufacturing certificate publicly accessible. This earns a Grade B: test results and lab outputs are visible, but full study documentation including method details, subject counts, batch identifiers, and dates is not fully accessible for all reported tests. No specific allergen warnings are published for Benzyl Alcohol or lemongrass oil despite their presence in a daily leave-on product. No batch or expiry traceability is publicly visible.
Basic application instructions are provided on the product page. The brand gives clear guidance on the product's purpose and SPF level. However, reapplication frequency guidance (every two hours in active sun, regardless of the 12-hour claim) is not clearly communicated, which is a meaningful gap for a sunscreen. No specific fragrance allergen warning is given despite Benzyl Alcohol and lemongrass oil being present in a daily leave-on formula. No skin type suitability guidance is provided to help consumers with fragrance sensitivity or atopic skin understand whether this product is appropriate for them.
| Ingredient |
|---|
Aqua |
Dibutyl Adipate |
Methylene Bis-Benzotriazolyl Tetramethylbutylphenol |
C15-19 Alkane |
Caprylyl Caprylate/Caprate |
Ethylhexyl Triazone |
Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate |
Polyglyceryl-6 Laurate |
Niacinamide |
Chondrus Crispus Extract |
Dicaprylyl Carbonate |
Isododecane |
Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate |
Adenosine |
Sodium Hyaluronate |
Hexylene Glycol |
Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice |
Saccharomyces Ferment Lysate Filtrate |
Glycerin |
Bis-Ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine |
Starch |
Polymethylsilsesquioxane |
Isoamyl Laurate |
Diethylhexyl Butamido Triazone |
Xylitol |
Steareth-21 |
Pentaerythrityl Distearate |
Sodium Polyacrylate |
Erythritol |
Sodium Stearoyl Glutamate |
Silica |
Polyglutamic Acid |
Magnesium Aluminum Silicate |
Polyacrylate Crosspolymer-6 |
Brassica Oleracea Italica Extract |
Glyceryl Caprylate |
Trisodium Dicarboxymethyl Alaninate |
Tocopheryl Acetate |
Tocotrienols |
Phytosteryl/Octyldodecyl Lauroyl Glutamate |
Diethylhexyl Syringylidenemalonate |
Benzyl Alcohol |
Olea Europaea Leaf Extract |
Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate |
Ectoin |
Sodium Levulinate |
Panthenol |
Caprylyl/Capryl Glucoside |
Decyl Glucoside |
Xanthan Gum |
Myristyl Glucoside |
Citric Acid |
Cymbopogon Flexuosus Leaf Oil |
Potassium Sorbate |
Sodium Benzoate |
INCI order as declared on packaging. Position reflects approximate concentration (high to low).
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious carcinogenicity flag found
No obvious public red flag found
Not triggered
Not triggered
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
A published SPF test report is accessible on the brand website, which confirms testing was conducted. The SPF 100 value is unusually high and no standardised ISO method above SPF 50+ is publicly confirmed, but the test report is more evidence than most Indian sunscreens provide.
Evidence visible
The brand references a French clinical study for this claim, but the full study including method, subject count, setting, and result scope is not publicly accessible and cannot be verified from available public evidence.
Mentioned only
The brand's claim is technically accurate: no Parfum or synthetic fragrance compounds are in the ingredient list. However, Benzyl Alcohol and lemongrass essential oil are natural fragrance allergens present in the formula, which consumers may not distinguish from synthetic fragrance when assessing sensitivities.
Evidence visible
Individual test report images for these claims are published in the brand's Proof of the Code section, which is substantially more evidence than badge-only claims.
Evidence visible
A published test report for sweat resistance is available on the brand website.
Evidence visible
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps
This assessment is based only on publicly available INCI, claims, and test evidence. It is not a full Clean Sheet certification. Full certification requires confidential formula review, exact concentrations, supplier documentation, manufacturing records, packaging compatibility, preservative efficacy, stability, and complete claim validation.
Are you the brand? If you have published test data or want to request a re-review, write to us at hello@thecleansheet.in.
How we read this product across 5 areas. Open any row for the full rationale.
The full ingredient list is publicly available on codeskin.in. All five UV filters are newer-generation, photostable, and approved under EU and Indian cosmetics regulations. None of the problematic filters found in many Indian sunscreens are present: no Oxybenzone, no Octinoxate, no Homosalate, no Octocrylene. This filter selection is genuinely better than most Indian sunscreens on the market. Two fragrance-related concerns are visible from the public ingredient list. Benzyl Alcohol is used here as a preservation booster but is also an EU-listed fragrance allergen under EU Regulation 2023/1545. In a daily leave-on sunscreen applied across the full face, this allergen status warrants disclosure for fragrance-sensitive consumers. Cymbopogon Flexuosus Leaf Oil (lemongrass essential oil) contains Citral, a recognised fragrance allergen and potential photosensitiser on a leave-on formula exposed to sunlight. The brand's claim of no synthetic fragrances is technically accurate, but natural fragrance sources carry the same sensitisation risk as synthetic ones. These are not disqualifying concerns at normal sunscreen concentrations, but they are not apparent from the brand's own claims alone.
The formula structure is consistent with a high-performance multi-filter chemical sunscreen. Five UV filters covering different wavelength ranges provide broad-spectrum coverage with photostability built in. Tinosorb M and Tinosorb S are among the most photostable UV filters available globally and are not available in the US market. Niacinamide appears fairly early in the ingredient list, before several minor emollients and botanicals, suggesting a meaningful concentration relevant for its anti-inflammatory and anti-pigmentation benefit. The preservation system uses Sodium Levulinate, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Benzyl Alcohol, and Glyceryl Caprylate, a phenoxyethanol-free system consistent with the brand's declared formulation charter. One formulation note: Potassium Sorbate and Sodium Benzoate are most effective at a pH below 5, and sunscreen formulas are typically formulated at higher pH values. The multi-component preservation system likely compensates, but pH is not publicly disclosed. The formula's packaging (described as a fluid) is appropriate for sunscreen.
Published SPF test report available. Some claims need more context.
CodeSkin publishes more public test evidence than most Indian brands. The SPF 100 and PA++++ values are supported by a published SPF test report. Non-comedogenic, dermatologist tested, ophthalmologist tested, water and sweat resistance, and moisturisation all have corresponding test reports in the brand's Proof of the Code section. These represent a substantially stronger evidence base than the unsubstantiated badge claims that are standard in the Indian market. Two claims remain unverified from public evidence. The 12-hour protection claim references a French clinical study, but the full study details including method, subject count, setting, and scope are not publicly accessible and cannot be verified. The SPF 100 claim is also unusual: no standardised ISO or BIS method has been publicly confirmed for SPF values this high, and the FDA caps SPF claims at 50+ in the US market (though India and EU do not impose the same cap). The brand's no synthetic fragrances positioning is accurate, but Benzyl Alcohol and lemongrass essential oil are fragrance allergens that consumers may not expect in a product marketed with that language.
“SPF 100 PA++++” A published SPF test report is accessible on the brand website, which confirms testing was conducted. The SPF 100 value is unusually high and no standardised ISO method above SPF 50+ is publicly confirmed, but the test report is more evidence than most Indian sunscreens provide.
“12-hour protection” The brand references a French clinical study for this claim, but the full study including method, subject count, setting, and result scope is not publicly accessible and cannot be verified from available public evidence.
“No synthetic fragrances” The brand's claim is technically accurate: no Parfum or synthetic fragrance compounds are in the ingredient list. However, Benzyl Alcohol and lemongrass essential oil are natural fragrance allergens present in the formula, which consumers may not distinguish from synthetic fragrance when assessing sensitivities.
The full ingredient list is publicly accessible on the brand website. CodeSkin publishes individual test report images for SPF, non-comedogenic, dermatologist tested, ophthalmologist tested, and sweat resistance, which is an unusually high level of public evidence for an Indian brand of this scale. The brand also makes its GMP manufacturing certificate publicly accessible. This earns a Grade B: test results and lab outputs are visible, but full study documentation including method details, subject counts, batch identifiers, and dates is not fully accessible for all reported tests. No specific allergen warnings are published for Benzyl Alcohol or lemongrass oil despite their presence in a daily leave-on product. No batch or expiry traceability is publicly visible.
Basic application instructions are provided on the product page. The brand gives clear guidance on the product's purpose and SPF level. However, reapplication frequency guidance (every two hours in active sun, regardless of the 12-hour claim) is not clearly communicated, which is a meaningful gap for a sunscreen. No specific fragrance allergen warning is given despite Benzyl Alcohol and lemongrass oil being present in a daily leave-on formula. No skin type suitability guidance is provided to help consumers with fragrance sensitivity or atopic skin understand whether this product is appropriate for them.