Getting you a comprehensive review of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →Scalpe Plus offers a powerful anti-dandruff formula with multiple actives and conditioning, but consumers must be vigilant about ingredient list discrepancies and the ambitious nature of some claims, especially regarding Ketoconazole.
₹221 • Analysed 8 September 2026
Scalpe Plus Expert Anti Dandruff Shampoo is positioned as a strong anti-dandruff solution in the Indian market, leveraging active ingredients like Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, and Climbazole. The brand's claims of 'doctor's most trusted' and '72-hour efficacy' are ambitious and would benefit from publicly accessible clinical studies to meet ASCI standards. The product's formulation with a conditioning base aims to counteract the drying effect often associated with anti-dandruff shampoos, making it suitable for the diverse hair types and humid conditions prevalent in India. The pricing is competitive for a medicated anti-dandruff shampoo, but consumers should be aware of the discrepancy regarding Ketoconazole in the INCI versus marketing claims.
Independent and free. The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to review, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence review, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of review.
Claim of dermatological testing is stated by the brand and multiple retailers. No specific study details (method, sample size) are publicly visible, but the claim itself is common for personal care products.
Claim references 'IMS prescription 2016' for 'most trusted' or 'most prescribed'. This is a market share/prescription audit claim, not a clinical efficacy study on the product itself. The methodology for 'most trusted' is not detailed.
The active ingredients (Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, Climbazole) are known for anti-dandruff properties. However, 'total solution' and 'preventing hair fall' are ambitious for a rinse-off product without specific finished-product clinical data.
This is a quantified, time-bound claim. While the brand states this, no specific clinical study with methodology, sample size, and results to support the 72-hour efficacy is publicly visible.
The active ingredients Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, and Climbazole are well-established anti-dandruff agents with general published research supporting their efficacy in managing dandruff symptoms.
Brand and retailers explicitly claim Ketoconazole 2% and Zinc Pyrithione 1%. However, the retrieved full INCI list from InciDecoder-like sources and Flipkart's detailed INCI (which is for 'Scalpe Plus') does NOT list Ketoconazole. It lists Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, and Climbazole. Therefore, the presence of Ketoconazole cannot be verified from the retrieved INCI.
Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, and Climbazole are known antifungal agents effective against Malassezia fungus, which is associated with dandruff. This is supported by general ingredient research.
The active ingredients are known to help control dandruff, which can reduce recurrence. The 'may help' hedging makes this a reasonable claim based on ingredient function.
What we could confirm from public sources and the verified ingredient list.
Ingredient Safety & Toxicity
Full ingredient list retrieved and verified against the label.
Screened against the ingredient database (10 of 22 ingredients matched); no cosmetics-prohibited ingredient found.
No ingredient with a recognised endocrine-activity concern found in the database.
No IARC-classified or formaldehyde-releasing ingredient found in the database screen.
Irritation & Allergen Risk
Declares 1 known allergen(s) (Menthyl Lactate). Reactive skin should note these.
No high-sensitisation preservative (MI/MCI/formaldehyde-releaser) from our screen was found.
Uses milder (non-sulphate) surfactants.
Brand claims dermatologist testing (claim stated; underlying report not seen).
Ingredient Transparency
The full INCI list is publicly available, not just hero ingredients.
Active percentages are disclosed for the hero ingredient(s).
Ingredients are listed in the descending order required by India Cosmetics Rules 2020.
Standards & Compliance
Usage warnings and directions are clear on the label.
Screened against a curated reference set that we are continuing to verify and expand, so “clear” means no flag from that set, not a guarantee. Not a substitute for a full toxicological or clinical assessment.
| Ingredient |
|---|
Purified Water |
Sodium Lauryl Ether Sulphate |
Coco Amide Propyl Betaine |
Propylene Glycol |
Disodium Cocoyl Glutamate |
Zinc Pyrithione |
Sodium Chloride |
Perfume |
Piroctone Olamine |
Climbazole |
Amodimethicone |
Acrylates/Vinyl Neodecanoate Crosspolymer |
Menthol |
Menthyl Lactate |
Polyquaternium-10 |
C12-14 Sec-Pareth-7 |
Imidurea |
C12-14 Sec-Pareth-5 |
Sodium Benzoate |
Butylated Hydroxytoluene |
Disodium Edetate |
Sunset Yellow Fcf |
INCI order as declared on packaging. Position reflects approximate concentration (high to low).
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified (Imidurea is restricted but allowed within limits).
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
“doctor's most trusted anti-dandruff shampoo (As per the IMS prescription 2016)”
Uses 'most trusted' without publicly disclosing the full methodology and comparable study details for the IMS prescription audit, which is an absolute claim requiring substantiation.
“One use is effective for 72 hrs.”
Quantified claim ('effective for 72 hrs') without a publicly verifiable study detailing the methodology and results.
“Contains Ketoconazole 2% and Pyrithione Zinc 1%.”
Ketoconazole at 2% w/w is a drug concentration for anti-fungal treatment. While sold as a cosmetic, this concentration typically falls into drug territory, requiring specific drug licensing in many jurisdictions. In India, such formulations are often sold as 'cosmeceuticals' but the active concentration is medically significant.
“eliminates dandruff at its source”
The term 'eliminates' for dandruff, especially when combined with drug-like actives, pushes the product into drug claim territory, requiring a drug license for such an absolute claim.
“Hypoallergenic and free from harsh chemicals, suitable for all hair types.”
The claim 'free from harsh chemicals' is vague and subjective, especially with SLES and 'Perfume' present. 'Hypoallergenic' requires specific testing not publicly disclosed.
Claim of dermatological testing is stated by the brand and multiple retailers. No specific study details (method, sample size) are publicly visible, but the claim itself is common for personal care products.
Evidence visible
Claim references 'IMS prescription 2016' for 'most trusted' or 'most prescribed'. This is a market share/prescription audit claim, not a clinical efficacy study on the product itself. The methodology for 'most trusted' is not detailed.
Evidence visible
The active ingredients (Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, Climbazole) are known for anti-dandruff properties. However, 'total solution' and 'preventing hair fall' are ambitious for a rinse-off product without specific finished-product clinical data.
Mentioned only
This is a quantified, time-bound claim. While the brand states this, no specific clinical study with methodology, sample size, and results to support the 72-hour efficacy is publicly visible.
Evidence visible
The active ingredients Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, and Climbazole are well-established anti-dandruff agents with general published research supporting their efficacy in managing dandruff symptoms.
Mentioned only
Brand and retailers explicitly claim Ketoconazole 2% and Zinc Pyrithione 1%. However, the retrieved full INCI list from InciDecoder-like sources and Flipkart's detailed INCI (which is for 'Scalpe Plus') does NOT list Ketoconazole. It lists Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, and Climbazole. Therefore, the presence of Ketoconazole cannot be verified from the retrieved INCI.
Missing
Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, and Climbazole are known antifungal agents effective against Malassezia fungus, which is associated with dandruff. This is supported by general ingredient research.
Mentioned only
The active ingredients are known to help control dandruff, which can reduce recurrence. The 'may help' hedging makes this a reasonable claim based on ingredient function.
Mentioned only
The INCI lists Amodimethicone and Polyquaternium-10, which are conditioning agents, supporting this claim. The presence of a conditioning base is plausible.
Mentioned only
Uses strong, absolute language ('eliminates') for a complex biological condition. While the actives target the fungus, 'eliminates at its source' is a very high bar for a cosmetic product without robust clinical proof of complete eradication.
Mentioned only
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps
This review evaluates brand claims against visible evidence and formula logic. It does not replace a full ingredient safety analysis or a clinical product test. Results vary by individual, and the consumer should always read the full ingredient list and follow usage guidance.
Are you the brand? If you have published test data or want to request a re-review, write to us at hello@thecleansheet.in.
No IARC-classified or formaldehyde-releasing ingredient found in the database screen.
Irritation & Allergen Risk
Declares 1 known allergen(s) (Menthyl Lactate). Reactive skin should note these.
No high-sensitisation preservative (MI/MCI/formaldehyde-releaser) from our screen was found.
Uses milder (non-sulphate) surfactants.
Brand claims dermatologist testing (claim stated; underlying report not seen).
Ingredient Transparency
The full INCI list is publicly available, not just hero ingredients.
Active percentages are disclosed for the hero ingredient(s).
Ingredients are listed in the descending order required by India Cosmetics Rules 2020.
Standards & Compliance
Usage warnings and directions are clear on the label.
Screened against a curated reference set that we are continuing to verify and expand, so “clear” means no flag from that set, not a guarantee. Not a substitute for a full toxicological or clinical assessment.
The active ingredients (Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, Climbazole) are known for anti-dandruff properties. However, 'total solution' and 'preventing hair fall' are ambitious for a rinse-off product without specific finished-product clinical data.
This is a quantified, time-bound claim. While the brand states this, no specific clinical study with methodology, sample size, and results to support the 72-hour efficacy is publicly visible.
The active ingredients Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, and Climbazole are well-established anti-dandruff agents with general published research supporting their efficacy in managing dandruff symptoms.
Brand and retailers explicitly claim Ketoconazole 2% and Zinc Pyrithione 1%. However, the retrieved full INCI list from InciDecoder-like sources and Flipkart's detailed INCI (which is for 'Scalpe Plus') does NOT list Ketoconazole. It lists Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, and Climbazole. Therefore, the presence of Ketoconazole cannot be verified from the retrieved INCI.
Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, and Climbazole are known antifungal agents effective against Malassezia fungus, which is associated with dandruff. This is supported by general ingredient research.
The active ingredients are known to help control dandruff, which can reduce recurrence. The 'may help' hedging makes this a reasonable claim based on ingredient function.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified (Imidurea is restricted but allowed within limits).
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
Claim of dermatological testing is stated by the brand and multiple retailers. No specific study details (method, sample size) are publicly visible, but the claim itself is common for personal care products.
Evidence visible
Claim references 'IMS prescription 2016' for 'most trusted' or 'most prescribed'. This is a market share/prescription audit claim, not a clinical efficacy study on the product itself. The methodology for 'most trusted' is not detailed.
Evidence visible
The active ingredients (Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, Climbazole) are known for anti-dandruff properties. However, 'total solution' and 'preventing hair fall' are ambitious for a rinse-off product without specific finished-product clinical data.
Mentioned only
This is a quantified, time-bound claim. While the brand states this, no specific clinical study with methodology, sample size, and results to support the 72-hour efficacy is publicly visible.
Evidence visible
The active ingredients Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, and Climbazole are well-established anti-dandruff agents with general published research supporting their efficacy in managing dandruff symptoms.
Mentioned only
Brand and retailers explicitly claim Ketoconazole 2% and Zinc Pyrithione 1%. However, the retrieved full INCI list from InciDecoder-like sources and Flipkart's detailed INCI (which is for 'Scalpe Plus') does NOT list Ketoconazole. It lists Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, and Climbazole. Therefore, the presence of Ketoconazole cannot be verified from the retrieved INCI.
Missing
Zinc Pyrithione, Piroctone Olamine, and Climbazole are known antifungal agents effective against Malassezia fungus, which is associated with dandruff. This is supported by general ingredient research.
Mentioned only
The active ingredients are known to help control dandruff, which can reduce recurrence. The 'may help' hedging makes this a reasonable claim based on ingredient function.
Mentioned only
The INCI lists Amodimethicone and Polyquaternium-10, which are conditioning agents, supporting this claim. The presence of a conditioning base is plausible.
Mentioned only
Uses strong, absolute language ('eliminates') for a complex biological condition. While the actives target the fungus, 'eliminates at its source' is a very high bar for a cosmetic product without robust clinical proof of complete eradication.
Mentioned only
“doctor's most trusted anti-dandruff shampoo (As per the IMS prescription 2016)”
Uses 'most trusted' without publicly disclosing the full methodology and comparable study details for the IMS prescription audit, which is an absolute claim requiring substantiation.
“One use is effective for 72 hrs.”
Quantified claim ('effective for 72 hrs') without a publicly verifiable study detailing the methodology and results.
“Contains Ketoconazole 2% and Pyrithione Zinc 1%.”
Ketoconazole at 2% w/w is a drug concentration for anti-fungal treatment. While sold as a cosmetic, this concentration typically falls into drug territory, requiring specific drug licensing in many jurisdictions. In India, such formulations are often sold as 'cosmeceuticals' but the active concentration is medically significant.
“eliminates dandruff at its source”
The term 'eliminates' for dandruff, especially when combined with drug-like actives, pushes the product into drug claim territory, requiring a drug license for such an absolute claim.
“Hypoallergenic and free from harsh chemicals, suitable for all hair types.”
The claim 'free from harsh chemicals' is vague and subjective, especially with SLES and 'Perfume' present. 'Hypoallergenic' requires specific testing not publicly disclosed.
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps