Getting you a comprehensive review of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →
A daily BHA gel cleanser with Salicylic Acid at 1% (lower than the 2% Sali-Cinamide formula), Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, and Salix Alba (Willow Bark) Extract as a natural BHA source providing tannins and salicin. The formula uses Sodium Alpha Olefin Sulfonate as the primary surfactant - a petroleum-derived anionic surfactant that is more irritating than taurate or amino acid-based alternatives. PEG-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate is a PEG compound acting as a viscosity modifier. Sodium Lactate at position 6 adds NMF-component humectant benefit. Overall a functional everyday acne cleanser, but the surfactant choice limits its rating compared to the brand's Sali-Cinamide formula.
₹299 · ₹3/ml • Analysed 11 June 2026
1% SA daily cleanser is appropriate for Indian oily-to-combination skin types seeking a gentle daily BHA option without the potency of 2% formulas. The Witch Hazel adds a mild astringent quality suitable for monsoon season when pores appear more enlarged.
Independent and free. The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to review, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence review, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of review.
Inferred from product name; not explicitly confirmed by brand on PDP.
SA at 1% has some efficacy but less than 2%; SLES surfactant may counteract barrier benefits.
How we read this product across 5 areas. Open any row for the full rationale.
Full INCI published. Salicylic Acid at 1% (lower than the 2% gel serum) - within all global cosmetic limits. SLES (Sodium Laureth Sulfate) is present - it is effective but is a known irritant for sensitive and disrupted skin barriers. No parabens. Cocamidopropyl Betaine reduces SLES irritation as a co-surfactant. Menthol present - can be sensitising on acne-compromised skin.
1% Salicylic Acid is below the 2% typically cited in clinical literature. Effective for mild acne maintenance but less potent than the 2% wash. SLES as primary surfactant is a step down from SLSA in the 2% variant. Menthol adds a sensory cooling effect but provides no therapeutic acne benefit and may sensitise. Formula logic is functional but not optimal.
Good evidence for stated claims based on public information.
SA 1% not explicitly confirmed on PDP - lower confidence. Gel formula for acne is plausible but the anti-acne claim strength is weaker at 1%. No published efficacy data for this specific product. Menthol inclusion not clearly explained from a benefit standpoint.
“1% Salicylic Acid” Inferred from product name; not explicitly confirmed by brand on PDP.
“Anti-acne gel wash” SA at 1% has some efficacy but less than 2%; SLES surfactant may counteract barrier benefits.
SA concentration not explicitly confirmed by brand (inferred from product name). SLES concentration not disclosed. No third-party efficacy or safety certificates published.
Product name clearly states '1% Salicylic Acid Gel'. However, SLES presence and Menthol are not highlighted as potential irritants for sensitive/compromised skin - an important omission for an acne-targeting product.
| Ingredient |
|---|
Aqua |
Sodium Alpha Olefin Sulfonate |
Cocamidopropyl Betaine |
Glycerin |
Cocamide MEA |
Sodium Lactate |
Salicylic Acid |
Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract |
Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract |
Coco-Glucoside |
Glyceryl Oleate |
PEG-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate |
Sodium Chloride |
Phenoxyethanol |
Triethylene Glycol |
Disodium EDTA |
INCI order as declared on packaging. Position reflects approximate concentration (high to low).
Pass - Salicylic Acid at 1% within cosmetic limits
Pass - compliant with Indian Cosmetics Regulation 2020
Pass
Pass - 1% SA within OTC acne monograph range (0.5-2%)
Pass
Pass - no SVHC candidates identified
Pass - no IARC Group 1/2A carcinogens
Pass
Pass
Pass
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
Inferred from product name; not explicitly confirmed by brand on PDP.
Mentioned only
SA at 1% has some efficacy but less than 2%; SLES surfactant may counteract barrier benefits.
Mentioned only
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps
The 1% SA gel wash is functional but a step behind the 2% SA variant in the same range. SLES as the primary surfactant is a formulation compromise - it works but can irritate compromised acne skin. Menthol adds cooling sensation but no acne benefit and is a known sensitiser. Worth considering switching to the 2% Sali-cinamide wash if skin tolerates it.
Are you the brand? If you have published test data or want to request a re-review, write to us at hello@thecleansheet.in.
How we read this product across 5 areas. Open any row for the full rationale.
Full INCI published. Salicylic Acid at 1% (lower than the 2% gel serum) - within all global cosmetic limits. SLES (Sodium Laureth Sulfate) is present - it is effective but is a known irritant for sensitive and disrupted skin barriers. No parabens. Cocamidopropyl Betaine reduces SLES irritation as a co-surfactant. Menthol present - can be sensitising on acne-compromised skin.
1% Salicylic Acid is below the 2% typically cited in clinical literature. Effective for mild acne maintenance but less potent than the 2% wash. SLES as primary surfactant is a step down from SLSA in the 2% variant. Menthol adds a sensory cooling effect but provides no therapeutic acne benefit and may sensitise. Formula logic is functional but not optimal.
Good evidence for stated claims based on public information.
SA 1% not explicitly confirmed on PDP - lower confidence. Gel formula for acne is plausible but the anti-acne claim strength is weaker at 1%. No published efficacy data for this specific product. Menthol inclusion not clearly explained from a benefit standpoint.
“1% Salicylic Acid” Inferred from product name; not explicitly confirmed by brand on PDP.
“Anti-acne gel wash” SA at 1% has some efficacy but less than 2%; SLES surfactant may counteract barrier benefits.
SA concentration not explicitly confirmed by brand (inferred from product name). SLES concentration not disclosed. No third-party efficacy or safety certificates published.
Product name clearly states '1% Salicylic Acid Gel'. However, SLES presence and Menthol are not highlighted as potential irritants for sensitive/compromised skin - an important omission for an acne-targeting product.