Getting you a comprehensive review of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →
A hybrid mineral-chemical SPF 50 PA++++ sunscreen with brightening actives including Papaya Extract, Ceramide, and antioxidants. The same two regulatory-concern UV filters present in the Hydrate+ variant are here too: Benzophenone-3 (Oxybenzone), now classified by ECHA as a Category 1 endocrine disruptor (2025), and Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate (Octinoxate), whose EU maximum was reduced in 2023. An additional concern specific to this formula is Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Extract in a leave-on daytime product: grapefruit contains furanocoumarins with phototoxic potential, which is a poor fit for a sunscreen. Cyclopentasiloxane (D5) adds a cyclic silicone with environmental persistence concerns. The formula is fragrance-free and paraben-free.
₹279 · ₹6/ml • Analysed 10 June 2026
PA++++ and broad-spectrum coverage are well-matched to India's intense year-round UV load. The Papaya Extract adds relevance for post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, which is among the most common skin concerns across Fitzpatrick III-V skin tones. However, consumers preferring to avoid Benzophenone-3 (Oxybenzone) following its 2025 ECHA Category 1 endocrine disruptor classification should note its presence alongside Octinoxate. Grapefruit Extract in a daytime leave-on is worth flagging for reactive skin. Reapplication every two hours during sun exposure is necessary to maintain the stated SPF.
Independent and free. The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to review, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence review, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of review.
SPF 50 is stated on the product, but no ISO 24444-compliant test report with lab name, test date, or result summary is publicly accessible to verify this figure.
PA++++ is a meaningful UVA claim requiring its own verified test; no publicly accessible UVA test report was found during research.
Papain enzyme-based brightening is plausible at an ingredient level, but no finished-product clinical brightening study is publicly linked to support this claim.
No Parfum, Fragrance, or identifiable scent-use essential oils appear in the published INCI list; this claim is confirmed by the publicly available ingredient data.
The UV filter combination covers UVA and UVB by design, but no publicly accessible broad-spectrum test report or UVAPF ratio data is linked from the brand.
How we read this product across 5 areas. Open any row for the full rationale.
Two UV filters carry regulatory concern. Benzophenone-3 (Oxybenzone) was classified as a Category 1 endocrine disruptor by ECHA in 2025, is restricted in the EU, and is banned in several marine-protected areas for coral bleaching. Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate (Octinoxate) had its permitted EU concentration reduced in 2023 due to updated hormonal disruption data. Both appear in a daily-use leave-on product applied to significant skin surface area. Additionally, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Extract is present in this daytime leave-on formula. Grapefruit contains furanocoumarins that can sensitise skin to UV light, creating a phototoxicity risk that is poorly aligned with a sunscreen product. Cyclopentasiloxane (D5) is an EU-restricted cyclic silicone in rinse-off products and carries environmental persistence concerns. No synthetic fragrance, no parabens.
The hybrid UV system provides broad-spectrum coverage. Titanium Dioxide and Zinc Oxide add mineral reliability; Avobenzone covers the full UVA range; Octinoxate contributes UVB absorption. Papaya Extract's Papain enzyme provides gentle brightening via proteolytic surface renewal at cosmetic concentrations. Ceramide adds barrier value. Blueberry and Trehalose contribute antioxidant support. One observation: Titanium Dioxide appears very late in the ingredient list, which suggests the mineral filter contribution to UV protection may be minor relative to the chemical filters. Active concentrations are not publicly disclosed.
SPF 50 and PA++++ are stated. The full INCI list is published on the brand website. However, no ISO 24444-compliant SPF test report is publicly accessible. Brightening claims linked to Papaya Extract are plausible at an ingredient level but the finished-product brightening claim is not supported by any published clinical study. Benzophenone-3 is not acknowledged in product communications. The phototoxic potential of Grapefruit Extract in a daytime leave-on is not communicated to consumers. Fragrance-free status is confirmed by INCI.
“SPF 50” SPF 50 is stated on the product, but no ISO 24444-compliant test report with lab name, test date, or result summary is publicly accessible to verify this figure.
“PA++++ (highest UVA protection category)” PA++++ is a meaningful UVA claim requiring its own verified test; no publicly accessible UVA test report was found during research.
“Brightening with Papaya” Papain enzyme-based brightening is plausible at an ingredient level, but no finished-product clinical brightening study is publicly linked to support this claim.
SPF 50 and PA++++ are stated on pack, but no publicly accessible ISO 24444-compliant test report was found during research. No lab name, test date, batch, or result summary is published on the brand website or any linked Unilever resource. No brightening efficacy clinical data is publicly linked. Grade C reflects the pattern common to this category in India: testing almost certainly occurred, but results are not in the public domain.
Application instructions and sun protection guidance are clear. Skin type suitability is stated. No communication about the Grapefruit Extract phototoxicity consideration or the Oxybenzone endocrine disruptor concern is provided on the product page, leaving consumers without material information for informed choice.
| Ingredient |
|---|
Aqua |
C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate |
Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate |
Dimethicone |
Sodium Acrylates Copolymer |
Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane |
Glycerin |
Benzophenone-3 |
1,3 Butylene Glycol |
Phenoxyethanol |
Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice |
Lecithin |
Sodium Levulinate |
Xylitol |
Glucose |
Propylene Glycol |
Phospholipids |
Anhydroxylitol |
Glyceryl Stearate |
Allantoin |
D-Alpha Tocopheryl Acetate |
Trehalose |
Oxothiazolidine |
Vaccinium Sect. Cyanococcus (Blueberry) Fruit Extract |
Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Extract |
Phoenix Dactylifera Extract |
Glyceryl Glucoside |
Zinc Oxide |
Cyclopentasiloxane |
Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract |
PEG-10 Dimethicone |
Ceramide |
Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil |
Dimethicone |
Titanium Dioxide |
Aluminum Hydroxide |
Polyhydroxystearic Acid |
INCI order as declared on packaging. Position reflects approximate concentration (high to low).
Potential concern found - Benzophenone-3 (Oxybenzone, EU Annex VI restricted, under endocrine disruptor review); Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate (Octinoxate, EU Annex VI max reduced 2023); Cyclopentasiloxane (D5, EU restricted in rinse-off above 0.1%)
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
Potential concern found - Benzophenone-3 (Oxybenzone, FDA reviewing systemic absorption data)
Potential concern found - Benzophenone-3 (MFDS restricted UV filter); Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate (MFDS max 7.5%)
Potential concern found - Benzophenone-3 (Oxybenzone, ECHA Category 1 Endocrine Disruptor 2025)
No obvious carcinogenicity flag found
No obvious public red flag found
Potential concern found - SPF 50 claim requires TGA-compliant testing documentation if marketed in Australia
Not triggered
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
SPF 50 is stated on the product, but no ISO 24444-compliant test report with lab name, test date, or result summary is publicly accessible to verify this figure.
Mentioned only
PA++++ is a meaningful UVA claim requiring its own verified test; no publicly accessible UVA test report was found during research.
Mentioned only
Papain enzyme-based brightening is plausible at an ingredient level, but no finished-product clinical brightening study is publicly linked to support this claim.
Mentioned only
No Parfum, Fragrance, or identifiable scent-use essential oils appear in the published INCI list; this claim is confirmed by the publicly available ingredient data.
Evidence visible
The UV filter combination covers UVA and UVB by design, but no publicly accessible broad-spectrum test report or UVAPF ratio data is linked from the brand.
Mentioned only
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps
This assessment is based only on publicly available INCI, claims, and test evidence. It is not a full Clean Sheet certification. Full certification requires confidential formula review, exact concentrations, supplier documentation, manufacturing records, packaging compatibility, preservative efficacy, stability, and complete claim validation.
Are you the brand? If you have published test data or want to request a re-review, write to us at hello@thecleansheet.in.
How we read this product across 5 areas. Open any row for the full rationale.
Two UV filters carry regulatory concern. Benzophenone-3 (Oxybenzone) was classified as a Category 1 endocrine disruptor by ECHA in 2025, is restricted in the EU, and is banned in several marine-protected areas for coral bleaching. Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate (Octinoxate) had its permitted EU concentration reduced in 2023 due to updated hormonal disruption data. Both appear in a daily-use leave-on product applied to significant skin surface area. Additionally, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Extract is present in this daytime leave-on formula. Grapefruit contains furanocoumarins that can sensitise skin to UV light, creating a phototoxicity risk that is poorly aligned with a sunscreen product. Cyclopentasiloxane (D5) is an EU-restricted cyclic silicone in rinse-off products and carries environmental persistence concerns. No synthetic fragrance, no parabens.
The hybrid UV system provides broad-spectrum coverage. Titanium Dioxide and Zinc Oxide add mineral reliability; Avobenzone covers the full UVA range; Octinoxate contributes UVB absorption. Papaya Extract's Papain enzyme provides gentle brightening via proteolytic surface renewal at cosmetic concentrations. Ceramide adds barrier value. Blueberry and Trehalose contribute antioxidant support. One observation: Titanium Dioxide appears very late in the ingredient list, which suggests the mineral filter contribution to UV protection may be minor relative to the chemical filters. Active concentrations are not publicly disclosed.
SPF 50 and PA++++ are stated. The full INCI list is published on the brand website. However, no ISO 24444-compliant SPF test report is publicly accessible. Brightening claims linked to Papaya Extract are plausible at an ingredient level but the finished-product brightening claim is not supported by any published clinical study. Benzophenone-3 is not acknowledged in product communications. The phototoxic potential of Grapefruit Extract in a daytime leave-on is not communicated to consumers. Fragrance-free status is confirmed by INCI.
“SPF 50” SPF 50 is stated on the product, but no ISO 24444-compliant test report with lab name, test date, or result summary is publicly accessible to verify this figure.
“PA++++ (highest UVA protection category)” PA++++ is a meaningful UVA claim requiring its own verified test; no publicly accessible UVA test report was found during research.
“Brightening with Papaya” Papain enzyme-based brightening is plausible at an ingredient level, but no finished-product clinical brightening study is publicly linked to support this claim.
SPF 50 and PA++++ are stated on pack, but no publicly accessible ISO 24444-compliant test report was found during research. No lab name, test date, batch, or result summary is published on the brand website or any linked Unilever resource. No brightening efficacy clinical data is publicly linked. Grade C reflects the pattern common to this category in India: testing almost certainly occurred, but results are not in the public domain.
Application instructions and sun protection guidance are clear. Skin type suitability is stated. No communication about the Grapefruit Extract phototoxicity consideration or the Oxybenzone endocrine disruptor concern is provided on the product page, leaving consumers without material information for informed choice.