Getting you a comprehensive review of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →
A night cream combining Retinol and Bakuchiol with Shea Butter and Glycerin in an aqueous cream base. Both actives are present in the ingredient list and are supported by clinical literature at appropriate concentrations. Neither Retinol nor Bakuchiol concentration is publicly disclosed, which is a critical gap for a retinol product where the percentage determines how to introduce it and what to expect. Parfum is present in this leave-on retinol night cream, and since Retinol accelerates skin cell turnover and can temporarily thin the outer skin layer during the adjustment phase, combining it with an undisclosed fragrance blend increases the potential for sensitisation. Not suitable for use during pregnancy.
₹499-599 • Analysed 10 June 2026
Retinol cream is an accessible entry point for Indian consumers new to retinoids. The cream vehicle is gentler than a concentrated serum, and Bakuchiol may reduce the adjustment period. Start 2 to 3 times per week and apply SPF 30 or higher every morning. Retinol increases photosensitivity, and unprotected post-retinol sun exposure in India's UV-intense conditions is a direct trigger for post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation in Fitzpatrick III-V skin. Store in a cool, dark place. If you experience unexpected redness or itching after starting use, fragrance sensitivity during the adjustment phase is one possible contributing factor.
Independent and free. The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to review, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence review, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of review.
Both actives are present in the ingredient list, but neither concentration is disclosed. Without knowing the Retinol percentage, the expected efficacy timeline and adjustment severity cannot be verified from public data.
MADE SAFE certification is real and publicly verifiable. It excludes a defined list of harmful chemicals but does not validate efficacy claims.
No test report with lab name, method, sample size, or result is publicly accessible.
The combination of undisclosed Parfum with a Retinol active in a leave-on product is a consumer information gap that the toxin-free positioning does not resolve. The fragrance allergen status cannot be confirmed from the public ingredient list.
How we read this product across 5 areas. Open any row for the full rationale.
Retinol and Bakuchiol are both present in the ingredient list. All Vitamin A derivatives, including Retinol, carry a mandatory pregnancy contraindication and should not be used during pregnancy or when trying to conceive. This must be clearly communicated on packaging. The aqueous cream base introduces water, which accelerates Retinol degradation compared to a water-free formula, reducing active potency over the product's shelf life. The most significant concern from the public ingredient list is the combination of Retinol and Parfum in a daily leave-on product. Retinol speeds up cell turnover and gradually thins the outer skin layer during the adjustment phase, which can make the skin temporarily more permeable. Applying an undisclosed fragrance blend to skin in this state carries a higher sensitisation risk than fragrance in a standard moisturiser. No individual fragrance allergen components are named. No banned substances, no restricted parabens, no formaldehyde releasers.
Retinol and Bakuchiol together have published clinical support. A 2019 study in the British Journal of Dermatology found Bakuchiol comparable to Retinol for fine line reduction with fewer side effects. Their combination may offer a complementary benefit. The cream vehicle makes this more accessible for cautious users than a high-potency serum, which suits a mainstream accessible brand. However, the aqueous base reduces Retinol stability compared to a water-free formulation. If the cream is packaged in a jar, repeated air exposure on opening would introduce additional oxidation risk. Tocopheryl Acetate provides some antioxidant stabilisation in the formula, but this does not fully compensate for the water-based vehicle. Phenoxyethanol and Ethylhexylglycerin provide adequate preservation. Retinol and Bakuchiol concentrations are both undisclosed, which means active plausibility cannot be confirmed from public data alone.
Retinol and Bakuchiol are confirmed present in the ingredient list. Neither concentration is disclosed, which is the primary evidence gap in this product. For a Retinol product, the concentration determines how to introduce it, how quickly to expect results, and how severe the adjustment period may be. Without a disclosed concentration, the Youth Boost claim cannot be calibrated or verified from public evidence. No published test reports for anti-ageing efficacy, dermatologist testing, or clinical results are publicly accessible. MADE SAFE certified. The combination of Retinol with undisclosed Parfum is a consumer information gap that the brand's toxin-free positioning does not address.
“Youth Boost / Anti-Ageing with Retinol and Bakuchiol” Both actives are present in the ingredient list, but neither concentration is disclosed. Without knowing the Retinol percentage, the expected efficacy timeline and adjustment severity cannot be verified from public data.
“MADE SAFE Certified” MADE SAFE certification is real and publicly verifiable. It excludes a defined list of harmful chemicals but does not validate efficacy claims.
“Dermatologist Tested” No test report with lab name, method, sample size, or result is publicly accessible.
Full INCI on mamaearth.in, consistent across Nykaa. The pregnancy contraindication for Retinol should be prominently communicated as a safety requirement. Retinol concentration is not disclosed, which is the single most important piece of consumer information for a retinol product. Bakuchiol concentration is also not disclosed. Parfum listed without individual compound names. No published test reports. Grade C: some transparency through INCI disclosure and third-party certification, but no lab name, method, or clinical result for any claim is publicly visible.
Night-use-only guidance is present. Application frequency and skin type guidance are communicated. The pregnancy contraindication for Retinol is required and should be prominently displayed. A note about gradually introducing the product and using SPF the following morning is important for consumers unfamiliar with retinoids and would strengthen consumer clarity.
| Ingredient |
|---|
Aqua |
Glycerin |
Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) |
Retinol |
Bakuchiol |
Sodium Hyaluronate |
Niacinamide |
Tocopheryl Acetate |
Allantoin |
Panthenol |
Carbomer |
Xanthan Gum |
Phenoxyethanol |
Ethylhexylglycerin |
Parfum |
Sodium Hydroxide |
INCI order as declared on packaging. Position reflects approximate concentration (high to low).
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found. Mamaearth is a CDSCO-registered brand under Honasa Consumer Ltd.
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious carcinogenicity flag found
No obvious public red flag found
Not triggered
Not triggered
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
Both actives are present in the ingredient list, but neither concentration is disclosed. Without knowing the Retinol percentage, the expected efficacy timeline and adjustment severity cannot be verified from public data.
Mentioned only
MADE SAFE certification is real and publicly verifiable. It excludes a defined list of harmful chemicals but does not validate efficacy claims.
Evidence visible
No test report with lab name, method, sample size, or result is publicly accessible.
Mentioned only
The combination of undisclosed Parfum with a Retinol active in a leave-on product is a consumer information gap that the toxin-free positioning does not resolve. The fragrance allergen status cannot be confirmed from the public ingredient list.
Missing
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps
This assessment is based only on publicly available INCI, claims, and test evidence. It is not a full Clean Sheet certification. Full certification requires confidential formula review, exact concentrations, supplier documentation, manufacturing records, packaging compatibility, preservative efficacy, stability, and complete claim validation.
Are you the brand? If you have published test data or want to request a re-review, write to us at hello@thecleansheet.in.
How we read this product across 5 areas. Open any row for the full rationale.
Retinol and Bakuchiol are both present in the ingredient list. All Vitamin A derivatives, including Retinol, carry a mandatory pregnancy contraindication and should not be used during pregnancy or when trying to conceive. This must be clearly communicated on packaging. The aqueous cream base introduces water, which accelerates Retinol degradation compared to a water-free formula, reducing active potency over the product's shelf life. The most significant concern from the public ingredient list is the combination of Retinol and Parfum in a daily leave-on product. Retinol speeds up cell turnover and gradually thins the outer skin layer during the adjustment phase, which can make the skin temporarily more permeable. Applying an undisclosed fragrance blend to skin in this state carries a higher sensitisation risk than fragrance in a standard moisturiser. No individual fragrance allergen components are named. No banned substances, no restricted parabens, no formaldehyde releasers.
Retinol and Bakuchiol together have published clinical support. A 2019 study in the British Journal of Dermatology found Bakuchiol comparable to Retinol for fine line reduction with fewer side effects. Their combination may offer a complementary benefit. The cream vehicle makes this more accessible for cautious users than a high-potency serum, which suits a mainstream accessible brand. However, the aqueous base reduces Retinol stability compared to a water-free formulation. If the cream is packaged in a jar, repeated air exposure on opening would introduce additional oxidation risk. Tocopheryl Acetate provides some antioxidant stabilisation in the formula, but this does not fully compensate for the water-based vehicle. Phenoxyethanol and Ethylhexylglycerin provide adequate preservation. Retinol and Bakuchiol concentrations are both undisclosed, which means active plausibility cannot be confirmed from public data alone.
Retinol and Bakuchiol are confirmed present in the ingredient list. Neither concentration is disclosed, which is the primary evidence gap in this product. For a Retinol product, the concentration determines how to introduce it, how quickly to expect results, and how severe the adjustment period may be. Without a disclosed concentration, the Youth Boost claim cannot be calibrated or verified from public evidence. No published test reports for anti-ageing efficacy, dermatologist testing, or clinical results are publicly accessible. MADE SAFE certified. The combination of Retinol with undisclosed Parfum is a consumer information gap that the brand's toxin-free positioning does not address.
“Youth Boost / Anti-Ageing with Retinol and Bakuchiol” Both actives are present in the ingredient list, but neither concentration is disclosed. Without knowing the Retinol percentage, the expected efficacy timeline and adjustment severity cannot be verified from public data.
“MADE SAFE Certified” MADE SAFE certification is real and publicly verifiable. It excludes a defined list of harmful chemicals but does not validate efficacy claims.
“Dermatologist Tested” No test report with lab name, method, sample size, or result is publicly accessible.
Full INCI on mamaearth.in, consistent across Nykaa. The pregnancy contraindication for Retinol should be prominently communicated as a safety requirement. Retinol concentration is not disclosed, which is the single most important piece of consumer information for a retinol product. Bakuchiol concentration is also not disclosed. Parfum listed without individual compound names. No published test reports. Grade C: some transparency through INCI disclosure and third-party certification, but no lab name, method, or clinical result for any claim is publicly visible.
Night-use-only guidance is present. Application frequency and skin type guidance are communicated. The pregnancy contraindication for Retinol is required and should be prominently displayed. A note about gradually introducing the product and using SPF the following morning is important for consumers unfamiliar with retinoids and would strengthen consumer clarity.