Getting you a comprehensive review of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →
A rinse-off gel cleanser built around a mild, sulfate-free surfactant system with Cocamidopropyl Betaine and Sodium Lauryl Sulfoacetate, supported by traditional Indian brightening botanicals including Chickpea flour, Turmeric, and Saffron. As a rinse-off product, contact time is brief, which limits how much the botanical actives can contribute to visible brightening. The sulfate-free surfactant system is a genuine formulation advantage over SLS-based alternatives for daily use. Parfum is present, with a meaningfully lower concern profile in a rinse-off cleanser than in a leave-on product.
₹199-249 • Analysed 10 June 2026
The ubtan ritual traditionally used freshly prepared pastes left on skin for extended contact time, providing significantly more active exposure than a rinse-off face wash. This product captures the cultural identity and ingredient heritage without replicating the traditional application method. As a daily gentle cleanser with a pleasant skin feel, it performs well for Indian skin in humid conditions. Use it for cleansing quality and mild exfoliation rather than expecting the brightening results of a targeted leave-on treatment.
Independent and free. The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to review, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence review, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of review.
Both botanicals are present in the ingredient list, but their brightening effect in a rinse-off formula with brief skin contact has not been substantiated by published clinical evidence.
MADE SAFE certification is real, publicly verifiable, and excludes a defined list of harmful chemicals. It does not substantiate efficacy claims.
The ingredient list confirms the absence of Sodium Lauryl Sulfate and Sodium Laureth Sulfate. SLSA is present but is classified as sulfate-free.
No test report with lab name, method, sample size, or result is publicly accessible.
How we read this product across 5 areas. Open any row for the full rationale.
Full INCI publicly available. No banned substances, no restricted parabens, no formaldehyde releasers. Sodium Lauryl Sulfoacetate is a milder surfactant than Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, with lower irritation potential for most skin types, though it can cause dryness with daily use on very sensitive or eczema-prone skin. Cocamidopropyl Betaine is widely tolerated with only rare sensitisation in certain individuals. Parfum is present, but in a rinse-off cleanser the sensitisation concern is considerably lower than in a leave-on product, because the formula is washed away and cumulative exposure is short. No individual fragrance allergens are named, which remains a transparency gap even in a rinse-off context. Chickpea flour, Turmeric, and Saffron extracts are all well-tolerated botanicals with no significant safety flags at cosmetic use levels.
Formula structure is appropriate for a rinse-off gel cleanser. Cocamidopropyl Betaine and Sodium Lauryl Sulfoacetate together establish a mild surfactant system. Chickpea flour appearing well up in the formula suggests a meaningful inclusion for mild physical exfoliation. Turmeric and Saffron extracts appear at moderate positions. Their anti-inflammatory and antioxidant properties are genuine, but effective brightening from these actives requires prolonged topical contact that a rinse-off format cannot provide. The sulfate-free surfactant system preserves the skin's acid mantle better than SLS-based cleansers. Phenoxyethanol and Ethylhexylglycerin provide adequate preservation for the rinse-off vehicle. No stability concerns are visible from the public formula.
Full INCI available. Active concentrations are not disclosed. No published test reports found for brightening efficacy, dermatologist testing, or clinical studies. MADE SAFE certified. The brightening claim rests on traditional ubtan heritage and ingredient associations rather than clinical evidence at rinse-off contact times. The real ubtan tradition used concentrated pastes left on skin for extended contact periods, which a face wash does not replicate. SLSA is described in brand materials as coconut-derived, which is accurate but understates the degree of industrial processing involved. Toxin-free has no regulatory definition and does not add verifiable consumer protection. None of the performance claims are substantiated by publicly available clinical or test evidence.
“Brightening with Turmeric and Saffron” Both botanicals are present in the ingredient list, but their brightening effect in a rinse-off formula with brief skin contact has not been substantiated by published clinical evidence.
“MADE SAFE Certified” MADE SAFE certification is real, publicly verifiable, and excludes a defined list of harmful chemicals. It does not substantiate efficacy claims.
“Sulfate-Free” The ingredient list confirms the absence of Sodium Lauryl Sulfate and Sodium Laureth Sulfate. SLSA is present but is classified as sulfate-free.
Full INCI on mamaearth.in is consistent across Nykaa and Amazon. MADE SAFE certification is publicly verifiable. No published test reports for any of the product claims. Parfum listed without individual fragrance compound names. Active concentrations not disclosed. The rinse-off format reduces the practical concern of some of these gaps relative to leave-on products. Grade C: some basic transparency through INCI disclosure and third-party certification, but no clinical method, lab name, or result is publicly visible.
Application instructions, frequency guidance for daily cleansing, and skin type suitability are clearly communicated. A note that brightening botanicals in a rinse-off product work differently than in a leave-on treatment would be a valuable honest caveat for consumer decision-making.
| Ingredient |
|---|
Aqua |
Cocamidopropyl Betaine |
Sodium Lauryl Sulfoacetate |
Cicer Arietinum (Chickpea) Flour |
Curcuma Longa Root Extract |
Crocus Sativus (Saffron) Extract |
Glycerin |
Allantoin |
Carbomer |
Xanthan Gum |
Phenoxyethanol |
Ethylhexylglycerin |
Parfum |
Sodium Hydroxide |
Citric Acid |
INCI order as declared on packaging. Position reflects approximate concentration (high to low).
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found. Mamaearth is a CDSCO-registered brand under Honasa Consumer Ltd.
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious carcinogenicity flag found
No obvious public red flag found
Not triggered
Triggered. Curcuma Longa Root Extract and Crocus Sativus Extract are botanicals relevant to NHPID review.
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
Both botanicals are present in the ingredient list, but their brightening effect in a rinse-off formula with brief skin contact has not been substantiated by published clinical evidence.
Mentioned only
MADE SAFE certification is real, publicly verifiable, and excludes a defined list of harmful chemicals. It does not substantiate efficacy claims.
Evidence visible
The ingredient list confirms the absence of Sodium Lauryl Sulfate and Sodium Laureth Sulfate. SLSA is present but is classified as sulfate-free.
Evidence visible
No test report with lab name, method, sample size, or result is publicly accessible.
Mentioned only
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps
This assessment is based only on publicly available INCI, claims, and test evidence. It is not a full Clean Sheet certification. Full certification requires confidential formula review, exact concentrations, supplier documentation, manufacturing records, packaging compatibility, preservative efficacy, stability, and complete claim validation.
Are you the brand? If you have published test data or want to request a re-review, write to us at hello@thecleansheet.in.
How we read this product across 5 areas. Open any row for the full rationale.
Full INCI publicly available. No banned substances, no restricted parabens, no formaldehyde releasers. Sodium Lauryl Sulfoacetate is a milder surfactant than Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, with lower irritation potential for most skin types, though it can cause dryness with daily use on very sensitive or eczema-prone skin. Cocamidopropyl Betaine is widely tolerated with only rare sensitisation in certain individuals. Parfum is present, but in a rinse-off cleanser the sensitisation concern is considerably lower than in a leave-on product, because the formula is washed away and cumulative exposure is short. No individual fragrance allergens are named, which remains a transparency gap even in a rinse-off context. Chickpea flour, Turmeric, and Saffron extracts are all well-tolerated botanicals with no significant safety flags at cosmetic use levels.
Formula structure is appropriate for a rinse-off gel cleanser. Cocamidopropyl Betaine and Sodium Lauryl Sulfoacetate together establish a mild surfactant system. Chickpea flour appearing well up in the formula suggests a meaningful inclusion for mild physical exfoliation. Turmeric and Saffron extracts appear at moderate positions. Their anti-inflammatory and antioxidant properties are genuine, but effective brightening from these actives requires prolonged topical contact that a rinse-off format cannot provide. The sulfate-free surfactant system preserves the skin's acid mantle better than SLS-based cleansers. Phenoxyethanol and Ethylhexylglycerin provide adequate preservation for the rinse-off vehicle. No stability concerns are visible from the public formula.
Full INCI available. Active concentrations are not disclosed. No published test reports found for brightening efficacy, dermatologist testing, or clinical studies. MADE SAFE certified. The brightening claim rests on traditional ubtan heritage and ingredient associations rather than clinical evidence at rinse-off contact times. The real ubtan tradition used concentrated pastes left on skin for extended contact periods, which a face wash does not replicate. SLSA is described in brand materials as coconut-derived, which is accurate but understates the degree of industrial processing involved. Toxin-free has no regulatory definition and does not add verifiable consumer protection. None of the performance claims are substantiated by publicly available clinical or test evidence.
“Brightening with Turmeric and Saffron” Both botanicals are present in the ingredient list, but their brightening effect in a rinse-off formula with brief skin contact has not been substantiated by published clinical evidence.
“MADE SAFE Certified” MADE SAFE certification is real, publicly verifiable, and excludes a defined list of harmful chemicals. It does not substantiate efficacy claims.
“Sulfate-Free” The ingredient list confirms the absence of Sodium Lauryl Sulfate and Sodium Laureth Sulfate. SLSA is present but is classified as sulfate-free.
Full INCI on mamaearth.in is consistent across Nykaa and Amazon. MADE SAFE certification is publicly verifiable. No published test reports for any of the product claims. Parfum listed without individual fragrance compound names. Active concentrations not disclosed. The rinse-off format reduces the practical concern of some of these gaps relative to leave-on products. Grade C: some basic transparency through INCI disclosure and third-party certification, but no clinical method, lab name, or result is publicly visible.
Application instructions, frequency guidance for daily cleansing, and skin type suitability are clearly communicated. A note that brightening botanicals in a rinse-off product work differently than in a leave-on treatment would be a valuable honest caveat for consumer decision-making.