Getting you a comprehensive review of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Getting you a comprehensive review of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →
Dove Intense Repair Shampoo offers effective cosmetic repair and conditioning, but its ambitious 'Bio-Protein Care' and '100% Lost Protein' claims lack clear ingredient substantiation in the provided INCI, making it a product where the ingredient story may outrun the visible formula.
₹630 • Analysed 26 September 2026
Dove Intense Repair Shampoo is a widely available and popular product in the Indian market, positioned for damaged and dry hair. Its pricing is competitive within the mass-market segment. The claims of '10X Damage Resistance' and 'Refills 100% Lost Protein' are ambitious and quantified, which, without detailed clinical study disclosure, could attract ASCI scrutiny. The presence of both SLES and SLS, while common, might be a consideration for Indian consumers with very sensitive scalps or those seeking sulfate-free options, especially given the 'gentle formula' claim. The product's focus on repair and nourishment aligns well with common hair concerns in India, such as damage from heat, pollution, and hard water.
Independent and free. The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to review, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence review, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of review.
Claim is quantified and ambitious. Supported by a general statement of '*Based on lab test vs non-conditioning shampoo' on Amazon and the brand's website, indicating finished product testing. However, specific details of the lab test (methodology, sample size, duration) are not publicly disclosed, which limits full substantiation for a 10X claim.
Claim is highly specific and quantified ('Refills 100% Lost Protein'). The provided INCI list does not explicitly contain protein or keratin ingredients (e.g., Hydrolyzed Keratin, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Lentil Seed Extract) that would directly support 'Bio-Protein Care' or 'Refills 100% Lost Protein'. Other online INCI lists for this product variant mention 'Keratin Actives' or 'Ceramide Formula' with protein sources, suggesting the provided INCI might be for a different variant or an older formulation. Without these in the retrieved INCI, the claim remains unverified from the provided list.
Supported by the general statement of '**Basis hair breakage, smoothness and frizz control data vs non-conditioning shampoo' on Amazon and the brand's website, indicating finished product testing for visible results.
Supported by the general statement of finished product testing for hair breakage and appearance.
Supported by the general statement of finished product testing for repair. The 'deep inside' aspect is a strong claim for a rinse-off product, but silicones and conditioning agents can provide significant surface benefits that feel like deep repair.
The formula contains Sodium Laureth Sulfate (SLES) and Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS). While SLES is considered moderately gentle, SLS can be more irritating for some. The combination might not be universally 'gentle' for all sensitive scalps, though it's common in shampoos.
The retrieved INCI list does not contain any parabens, supporting this claim.
Myntra listing states 'Globally, Dove does not test on animals. Our hair care products are PETA approved and vegan.'
What we could confirm from public sources and the verified ingredient list.
Ingredient Safety & Toxicity
Full ingredient list retrieved and verified against INCIDecoder.
Screened against the ingredient database (18 of 32 ingredients matched); no cosmetics-prohibited ingredient found.
Cyclotetrasiloxane: The most restricted of the cyclic siloxanes: ECHA-listed as a Substance of Very High Concern for both PBT/vPvB (persistent, bioaccumulative, toxic) properties and reproductive toxicity
No IARC-classified or formaldehyde-releasing ingredient found in the database screen.
Irritation & Allergen Risk
Declares 1 known allergen(s) (Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate). Reactive skin should note these.
MI - a known contact sensitiser; EU bans it in leave-on products. MCI - sensitiser, tightly restricted to rinse-off at low levels.
Built on a stronger sulphate surfactant (sodium lauryl sulfate, sodium laureth sulfate) - effective, but can feel stripping on sensitive skin or in hard water.
Ingredient Transparency
The full INCI list is publicly available, not just hero ingredients.
Ingredients are listed in the descending order required by India Cosmetics Rules 2020.
Standards & Compliance
Usage warnings and directions are clear on the label.
Sustainability & Ethics
Brand makes a cruelty-free / PETA claim.
Screened against a curated reference set that we are continuing to verify and expand, so “clear” means no flag from that set, not a guarantee. Not a substitute for a full toxicological or clinical assessment.
| Ingredient |
|---|
Water |
Sodium Laureth Sulfate |
Dimethiconol |
Glycol Distearate |
Perfume |
Cocamidopropyl Betaine |
Sodium Chloride |
Sodium Benzoate |
Glycerin |
Cocamide MEA |
Gluconolactone |
Citric Acid |
Tea-Dodecylbenzenesulfonate |
Acrylates/Beheneth-25 Methacrylate Copolymer |
Tea-Sulfate |
Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride |
Mica |
Sodium Sulfate |
Trehalose |
PEG-45M |
Cyclotetrasiloxane |
Phenoxyethanol |
Disodium EDTA |
Titanium Dioxide |
Sodium Hydroxide |
Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil |
Sodium Lauryl Sulfate |
Silica |
Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate |
Methylchloroisothiazolinone |
Butylated Hydroxytoluene |
Methylisothiazolinone |
INCI order as declared on packaging. Position reflects approximate concentration (high to low).
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified. Methylchloroisothiazolinone and Methylisothiazolinone are restricted for leave-on products but permitted in rinse-off products within specified limits.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified. INCI order appears correct.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified.
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
“Nourishing system that gives 10X Damage Resistance*”
Quantified claim ('10X') without publicly disclosed, verifiable study details (sample size, duration, methodology) to support the specific numerical claim.
“With Bio-Protein Care Refills 100% Lost Protein”
Quantified claim ('100% Lost Protein') without publicly disclosed, verifiable study details or clear ingredient basis in the provided INCI.
Claim is quantified and ambitious. Supported by a general statement of '*Based on lab test vs non-conditioning shampoo' on Amazon and the brand's website, indicating finished product testing. However, specific details of the lab test (methodology, sample size, duration) are not publicly disclosed, which limits full substantiation for a 10X claim.
Evidence visible
Claim is highly specific and quantified ('Refills 100% Lost Protein'). The provided INCI list does not explicitly contain protein or keratin ingredients (e.g., Hydrolyzed Keratin, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Lentil Seed Extract) that would directly support 'Bio-Protein Care' or 'Refills 100% Lost Protein'. Other online INCI lists for this product variant mention 'Keratin Actives' or 'Ceramide Formula' with protein sources, suggesting the provided INCI might be for a different variant or an older formulation. Without these in the retrieved INCI, the claim remains unverified from the provided list.
Missing
Supported by the general statement of '**Basis hair breakage, smoothness and frizz control data vs non-conditioning shampoo' on Amazon and the brand's website, indicating finished product testing for visible results.
Evidence visible
Supported by the general statement of finished product testing for hair breakage and appearance.
Evidence visible
Supported by the general statement of finished product testing for repair. The 'deep inside' aspect is a strong claim for a rinse-off product, but silicones and conditioning agents can provide significant surface benefits that feel like deep repair.
Evidence visible
The formula contains Sodium Laureth Sulfate (SLES) and Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS). While SLES is considered moderately gentle, SLS can be more irritating for some. The combination might not be universally 'gentle' for all sensitive scalps, though it's common in shampoos.
Mentioned only
The retrieved INCI list does not contain any parabens, supporting this claim.
Missing
Myntra listing states 'Globally, Dove does not test on animals. Our hair care products are PETA approved and vegan.'
Evidence visible
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps
This review evaluates brand claims against visible evidence and formula logic. It does not replace a full ingredient safety analysis or a clinical product test. Results vary by individual, and the consumer should always read the full ingredient list and follow usage guidance.
Are you the brand? If you have published test data or want to request a re-review, write to us at hello@thecleansheet.in.