Getting you a comprehensive review of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →
Be Minimalist's Salicylic Acid 2% Face Serum is a well-formulated active serum that largely earns its claims through strong ingredient logic and transparency, though more finished-product clinical evidence would elevate its standing further.
₹549 • Analysed 18 July 2026
Actives like this can raise sun sensitivity, which India's high year-round UV makes significant, so pairing with a daytime SPF is important; the lighter the vehicle, the better it tends to wear in heat and humidity. The product's price is generally consistent across platforms, with Amazon and Flipkart often offering slight discounts. Quick commerce platforms typically list it at MRP. The marketing stays within India's cosmetic advertising norms (ASCI / CDSCO), with claims that match what the formula can do.
Independent and free. The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to review, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence review, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of review.
Salicylic Acid is listed as the 7th ingredient in the INCI, indicating a meaningful concentration. The brand explicitly states 2%.
Salicylic Acid is a well-researched BHA known for its ability to exfoliate inside pores and reduce comedones. However, no finished product clinical study for this specific product is publicly visible to quantify the reduction.
Salicylic Acid is known to help regulate sebum production. Marrubium Vulgare Extract also has sebum-regulating properties. No finished product test results are publicly visible for this specific claim.
Salicylic Acid (BHA) is oil-soluble and known to penetrate and exfoliate inside the pores. This is a well-established property of the ingredient.
The retrieved INCI list does not contain 'Parfum', 'Fragrance', or any essential oils. INCIDecoder also labels it fragrance-free.
The retrieved INCI list does not contain any drying or denatured alcohols. INCIDecoder also labels it alcohol-free.
This is a common claim for acne-prone products. While the formula appears suitable, no specific non-comedogenic testing report for the finished product is publicly visible.
The brand states 'dermatologist tested' which implies finished product testing. However, no details of the test (methodology, sample size, results) are publicly visible.
What we could confirm from public sources and the verified ingredient list.
Ingredient Safety & Toxicity
Full ingredient list retrieved and verified against INCIDecoder.
Screened against the ingredient database (10 of 25 ingredients matched); no cosmetics-prohibited ingredient found.
No ingredient with a recognised endocrine-activity concern found in the database.
No IARC-classified or formaldehyde-releasing ingredient found in the database screen.
No commonly-comedogenic ingredient found - a reasonable fit for acne-prone skin.
Irritation & Allergen Risk
No EU-declarable or database-flagged allergen found in the list.
No high-sensitisation preservative (MI/MCI/formaldehyde-releaser) from our screen was found.
Brand claims dermatologist testing (claim stated; underlying report not seen).
Ingredient Transparency
The full INCI list is publicly available, not just hero ingredients.
Active percentages are disclosed for the hero ingredient(s).
Ingredients are listed in the descending order required by India Cosmetics Rules 2020.
Standards & Compliance
Usage warnings and directions are clear on the label.
No retinoid or other pregnancy-cautioned active found in the screen.
Screened against a curated reference set that we are continuing to verify and expand, so “clear” means no flag from that set, not a guarantee. Not a substitute for a full toxicological or clinical assessment.
| Ingredient |
|---|
Water/Aqua |
Methylpropanediol |
Propylene Glycol |
Dimethyl Isosorbide |
Glycolic Acid |
Ethoxydiglycol |
Salicylic Acid |
Glycerin |
Sodium Hydroxide |
Pentylene Glycol |
Marrubium Vulgare Extract |
Polylysine |
Sodium Hyaluronate |
Epigallocatechin Gallatyl Glucoside |
Polysorbate 20 |
Hydroxyethylcellulose |
Xanthan Gum |
Lecithin |
Sclerotium Gum |
Pullulan |
Phenoxyethanol |
Lactic Acid |
Oligopeptide-10 |
Ethylhexylglycerin |
Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate |
INCI order as declared on packaging. Position reflects approximate concentration (high to low).
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
Salicylic Acid is listed as the 7th ingredient in the INCI, indicating a meaningful concentration. The brand explicitly states 2%.
Mentioned only
Salicylic Acid is a well-researched BHA known for its ability to exfoliate inside pores and reduce comedones. However, no finished product clinical study for this specific product is publicly visible to quantify the reduction.
Mentioned only
Salicylic Acid is known to help regulate sebum production. Marrubium Vulgare Extract also has sebum-regulating properties. No finished product test results are publicly visible for this specific claim.
Mentioned only
Salicylic Acid (BHA) is oil-soluble and known to penetrate and exfoliate inside the pores. This is a well-established property of the ingredient.
Mentioned only
The retrieved INCI list does not contain 'Parfum', 'Fragrance', or any essential oils. INCIDecoder also labels it fragrance-free.
Evidence visible
The retrieved INCI list does not contain any drying or denatured alcohols. INCIDecoder also labels it alcohol-free.
Evidence visible
This is a common claim for acne-prone products. While the formula appears suitable, no specific non-comedogenic testing report for the finished product is publicly visible.
Missing
The brand states 'dermatologist tested' which implies finished product testing. However, no details of the test (methodology, sample size, results) are publicly visible.
Evidence visible
While exfoliation can indirectly help with the appearance of post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation (acne marks), this claim is more ambitious. No specific finished product evidence for mark reduction is publicly visible. Glycolic and Lactic Acid can help with this, but their concentration is not disclosed.
Mentioned only
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps
This review evaluates brand claims against visible evidence and formula logic. It does not replace a full ingredient safety analysis or a clinical product test. Results vary by individual, and the consumer should always read the full ingredient list and follow usage guidance.
Are you the brand? If you have published test data or want to request a re-review, write to us at hello@thecleansheet.in.
No IARC-classified or formaldehyde-releasing ingredient found in the database screen.
No commonly-comedogenic ingredient found - a reasonable fit for acne-prone skin.
Irritation & Allergen Risk
No EU-declarable or database-flagged allergen found in the list.
No high-sensitisation preservative (MI/MCI/formaldehyde-releaser) from our screen was found.
Brand claims dermatologist testing (claim stated; underlying report not seen).
Ingredient Transparency
The full INCI list is publicly available, not just hero ingredients.
Active percentages are disclosed for the hero ingredient(s).
Ingredients are listed in the descending order required by India Cosmetics Rules 2020.
Standards & Compliance
Usage warnings and directions are clear on the label.
No retinoid or other pregnancy-cautioned active found in the screen.
Screened against a curated reference set that we are continuing to verify and expand, so “clear” means no flag from that set, not a guarantee. Not a substitute for a full toxicological or clinical assessment.
Salicylic Acid (BHA) is oil-soluble and known to penetrate and exfoliate inside the pores. This is a well-established property of the ingredient.
The retrieved INCI list does not contain 'Parfum', 'Fragrance', or any essential oils. INCIDecoder also labels it fragrance-free.
The retrieved INCI list does not contain any drying or denatured alcohols. INCIDecoder also labels it alcohol-free.
This is a common claim for acne-prone products. While the formula appears suitable, no specific non-comedogenic testing report for the finished product is publicly visible.
The brand states 'dermatologist tested' which implies finished product testing. However, no details of the test (methodology, sample size, results) are publicly visible.
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
No prohibited or restricted ingredients identified
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
Salicylic Acid is listed as the 7th ingredient in the INCI, indicating a meaningful concentration. The brand explicitly states 2%.
Mentioned only
Salicylic Acid is a well-researched BHA known for its ability to exfoliate inside pores and reduce comedones. However, no finished product clinical study for this specific product is publicly visible to quantify the reduction.
Mentioned only
Salicylic Acid is known to help regulate sebum production. Marrubium Vulgare Extract also has sebum-regulating properties. No finished product test results are publicly visible for this specific claim.
Mentioned only
Salicylic Acid (BHA) is oil-soluble and known to penetrate and exfoliate inside the pores. This is a well-established property of the ingredient.
Mentioned only
The retrieved INCI list does not contain 'Parfum', 'Fragrance', or any essential oils. INCIDecoder also labels it fragrance-free.
Evidence visible
The retrieved INCI list does not contain any drying or denatured alcohols. INCIDecoder also labels it alcohol-free.
Evidence visible
This is a common claim for acne-prone products. While the formula appears suitable, no specific non-comedogenic testing report for the finished product is publicly visible.
Missing
The brand states 'dermatologist tested' which implies finished product testing. However, no details of the test (methodology, sample size, results) are publicly visible.
Evidence visible
While exfoliation can indirectly help with the appearance of post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation (acne marks), this claim is more ambitious. No specific finished product evidence for mark reduction is publicly visible. Glycolic and Lactic Acid can help with this, but their concentration is not disclosed.
Mentioned only
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps