Getting you a comprehensive review of the product
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Reading every ingredient in the formula…
Join The Clean Sheet™ community
Science-backed beauty tips, ingredient alerts, and early access. Straight to your WhatsApp.
Join for free →
A dual-active brightening serum combining Niacinamide at a brand-confirmed 5% and Alpha Arbutin at a brand-confirmed 2%. Niacinamide inhibits melanosome transfer from melanocytes to keratinocytes, targeting the mechanism by which dark spots appear at the skin surface. Alpha Arbutin inhibits tyrosinase enzyme activity, reducing melanin synthesis at the source. Together they address two independent steps in the pigmentation pathway, making this combination more effective than either active alone. Fragrance-free, alcohol-free, and well-suited to all skin types including sensitive.
₹449 · ₹15/ml • Analysed 10 June 2026
Post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation from acne, sun exposure, and hormonal triggers is one of India's most prevalent skin concerns across Fitzpatrick III-V dominant skin tones. The dual-mechanism approach here, Niacinamide blocking melanosome transfer and Alpha Arbutin inhibiting tyrosinase, addresses the pigmentation pathway at two independent points. Daily SPF 30 or higher is essential alongside use. Any brightening progress made by this serum can be reversed by unprotected UV exposure. Consistent daily use for 8 to 12 weeks is typically needed before visible results appear.
Independent and free. The Clean Sheet takes no money from brands to review, rank, or approve a product. This is a web evidence review, not a Clean Sheet certification. We checked the ingredient list, publicly available test reports, marketing claims, and formula logic using only public information available at the time of review.
The brand states the 5% concentration on the product page, and its position in the ingredient list is consistent with this level.
The brand states the 2% concentration on the product page. Alpha Arbutin at 2% is a clinically studied dose for tyrosinase inhibition.
No Parfum, Fragrance, or scent-use essential oils appear in the public ingredient list.
The mechanism for both actives is well-established in published literature. No finished product clinical trial with sample size, method, and result is publicly accessible for this specific formula.
How we read this product across 5 areas. Open any row for the full rationale.
Clean allergen profile with a fragrance free formula.
No synthetic fragrance, no parabens, no sulfates, no formaldehyde releasers, and no alcohol were found in the public ingredient list. Alpha Arbutin at 2% has an established safety profile and is permitted under EU Cosmetics Regulation and India CR 2020. Niacinamide at 5% is one of the most well-tolerated cosmetic actives available and is suitable for sensitive, rosacea-prone, and reactive skin. Phenoxyethanol as a preservative is within the EU and India permitted 1% limit. Disodium EDTA is used as a chelating agent and is effective at cosmetic use levels. No significant sensitisation risk identified at these concentrations. The ingredient profile is suitable for daily use across all skin types.
Niacinamide at the brand-confirmed 5% appears very early in the formula, which is consistent with its stated concentration. Alpha Arbutin at the brand-confirmed 2% also appears high in the list, confirming a functional inclusion. This level of dual-active concentration disclosure by the brand is above industry average in the Indian market and allows confident inference about formula logic. Glycerin and Sodium Hyaluronate provide baseline hydration at appropriate positions. Panthenol and Allantoin support barrier integrity. Phenoxyethanol with Ethylhexylglycerin is an adequate preservation system for an aqueous leave-on serum. Formula pH is not publicly disclosed. For a product containing Niacinamide, pH disclosure would confirm optimal working conditions, though Niacinamide is less pH-sensitive than AHAs or BHAs.
Good evidence for stated claims based on public information.
Full ingredient list is publicly available on thedeconstruct.in. Both Niacinamide at 5% and Alpha Arbutin at 2% are brand-confirmed on the product page. This dual-active concentration disclosure is meaningful and allows the brightening claims to be assessed against a real foundation. Deconstruct publishes ingredient education content alongside product listings, which supports consumer understanding of how each active works. No unsupported marketing claims were identified for this product. No third-party clinical reports for the finished product are publicly published, which limits the claim support score from reaching the top range.
“Niacinamide 5%” The brand states the 5% concentration on the product page, and its position in the ingredient list is consistent with this level.
“Alpha Arbutin 2%” The brand states the 2% concentration on the product page. Alpha Arbutin at 2% is a clinically studied dose for tyrosinase inhibition.
“Fragrance-Free” No Parfum, Fragrance, or scent-use essential oils appear in the public ingredient list.
Full INCI is available on the brand website. Both active concentrations are disclosed, which is a meaningful transparency step beyond most Indian skincare brands. Ingredient education content is published alongside the product listing. However, no lab test reports, no clinical study, no method documentation, and no preservative efficacy test result are publicly accessible. The brand earns a Grade C: above-average transparency through concentration disclosure and educational content, but no independent third-party testing documentation is publicly visible.
How-to-use guidance, application frequency, and skin type suitability are clearly communicated on the product page. A note about daily SPF use alongside this serum would improve consumer clarity, since any brightening progress made by reducing melanin transfer can be reversed by unprotected UV exposure.
| Ingredient |
|---|
Water/Aqua |
Niacinamide |
Alpha Arbutin |
Glycerin |
Propylene Glycol |
Panthenol |
Sodium Hyaluronate |
Allantoin |
Carbomer |
Sodium Hydroxide |
Phenoxyethanol |
Ethylhexylglycerin |
Disodium EDTA |
INCI order as declared on packaging. Position reflects approximate concentration (high to low).
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious public red flag found
No obvious carcinogenicity flag found
No obvious public red flag found
Not triggered
Not triggered
Flags are based on publicly available INCI only. Not a substitute for full regulatory compliance review.
The brand states the 5% concentration on the product page, and its position in the ingredient list is consistent with this level.
Evidence visible
The brand states the 2% concentration on the product page. Alpha Arbutin at 2% is a clinically studied dose for tyrosinase inhibition.
Evidence visible
No Parfum, Fragrance, or scent-use essential oils appear in the public ingredient list.
Evidence visible
The mechanism for both actives is well-established in published literature. No finished product clinical trial with sample size, method, and result is publicly accessible for this specific formula.
Mentioned only
Public evidence the brand could provide to close verification gaps
This assessment is based only on publicly available INCI, claims, and test evidence. It is not a full Clean Sheet certification. Full certification requires confidential formula review, exact concentrations, supplier documentation, manufacturing records, packaging compatibility, preservative efficacy, stability, and complete claim validation.
Are you the brand? If you have published test data or want to request a re-review, write to us at hello@thecleansheet.in.
How we read this product across 5 areas. Open any row for the full rationale.
Clean allergen profile with a fragrance free formula.
No synthetic fragrance, no parabens, no sulfates, no formaldehyde releasers, and no alcohol were found in the public ingredient list. Alpha Arbutin at 2% has an established safety profile and is permitted under EU Cosmetics Regulation and India CR 2020. Niacinamide at 5% is one of the most well-tolerated cosmetic actives available and is suitable for sensitive, rosacea-prone, and reactive skin. Phenoxyethanol as a preservative is within the EU and India permitted 1% limit. Disodium EDTA is used as a chelating agent and is effective at cosmetic use levels. No significant sensitisation risk identified at these concentrations. The ingredient profile is suitable for daily use across all skin types.
Niacinamide at the brand-confirmed 5% appears very early in the formula, which is consistent with its stated concentration. Alpha Arbutin at the brand-confirmed 2% also appears high in the list, confirming a functional inclusion. This level of dual-active concentration disclosure by the brand is above industry average in the Indian market and allows confident inference about formula logic. Glycerin and Sodium Hyaluronate provide baseline hydration at appropriate positions. Panthenol and Allantoin support barrier integrity. Phenoxyethanol with Ethylhexylglycerin is an adequate preservation system for an aqueous leave-on serum. Formula pH is not publicly disclosed. For a product containing Niacinamide, pH disclosure would confirm optimal working conditions, though Niacinamide is less pH-sensitive than AHAs or BHAs.
Good evidence for stated claims based on public information.
Full ingredient list is publicly available on thedeconstruct.in. Both Niacinamide at 5% and Alpha Arbutin at 2% are brand-confirmed on the product page. This dual-active concentration disclosure is meaningful and allows the brightening claims to be assessed against a real foundation. Deconstruct publishes ingredient education content alongside product listings, which supports consumer understanding of how each active works. No unsupported marketing claims were identified for this product. No third-party clinical reports for the finished product are publicly published, which limits the claim support score from reaching the top range.
“Niacinamide 5%” The brand states the 5% concentration on the product page, and its position in the ingredient list is consistent with this level.
“Alpha Arbutin 2%” The brand states the 2% concentration on the product page. Alpha Arbutin at 2% is a clinically studied dose for tyrosinase inhibition.
“Fragrance-Free” No Parfum, Fragrance, or scent-use essential oils appear in the public ingredient list.
Full INCI is available on the brand website. Both active concentrations are disclosed, which is a meaningful transparency step beyond most Indian skincare brands. Ingredient education content is published alongside the product listing. However, no lab test reports, no clinical study, no method documentation, and no preservative efficacy test result are publicly accessible. The brand earns a Grade C: above-average transparency through concentration disclosure and educational content, but no independent third-party testing documentation is publicly visible.
How-to-use guidance, application frequency, and skin type suitability are clearly communicated on the product page. A note about daily SPF use alongside this serum would improve consumer clarity, since any brightening progress made by reducing melanin transfer can be reversed by unprotected UV exposure.